Problems trying to cut custom part.

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
mdwalker
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Problems trying to cut custom part.

Post by mdwalker »

I had a request to cut some custon screens. Simple design but it has 4923 pierces. Each screen is 6" wide x 54" long & with holes that are .063" dia. Basically a peirce. They are cut from 3/16" hot roll steel. Cutting on Samson 5x10 with Design Edge using Hypertherm Powermax 1000 using 60 amp consumables. Not at the shop right now so I don't remember settings other than I know I was cutting at 60 amps. I have 15 - 20 years experience with Hypertherm plasma cutters, 5+ years with PlasmaCam DHC2, & 1+ month with Samson 5x10 & Design Edge so I am experienced at setting up the cuts. Doesn't mean I am right, just not a newbie, lol. I know there are companies that make this screen but the customer wants me to cut it. I could buy a new Powermax 85 for what they are paying for 4 screens so my job is to find a way to cut them with best quality possible. Now for the problem: Estimated cut time for 1 screen is under 2 hours. Actual time for 1 was 3 days. Started cutting fine and cut first few hundred holes with no problem then started having misfires on torch. The cnc would continue running but the torch would sometimes fire but wouldn't pierce the metal like when you don't have good ground. It would skip sometimes 1 hole & sometimes several then start firing again for a few holes and sometimes it wouldn't fire at all, but the cnc would run just as if torch was cutting. Sometimes the red warning light on front of plasma cutter would come on when torch misfired but not always. Changed out nozzle, electrode, shield, made sure internal torch parts were clean & moving properly. Hole quality is acceptable but having to go back & re-cut the holes it misses is very time consuming. Not sure if the short cycle time on the cutter is causing prob