knife designs

Share, browse, & download dxf, svg, or other vector based designs. If you take be sure to give back.
elkriverfab
3 Star Elite Contributing Member

knife designs

Post by elkriverfab »

Would anyone have any knife blanks in dxf?

I am going to try to cut a few out of a big old saw blade this weekend.

I am thinking about using rattlesnake skin for handle scales on one along with some antler slabs for another, maybe some mesquite wood too?.

Would anybody have any tips on building?
This will be my first attempt.

Thanks. :D
"OK, Now hold my beer and I'll try it"
Kentuckyfarmer
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: knife designs

Post by Kentuckyfarmer »

Sounds like a job for Plain OL Bill
Russ K
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by Russ K »

Here are a few tried and true/ traditional designs. You will have to scale them. I am no expert. Knife designs are subtle. Just cause you can draw it does not mean it will fit your hand or balance properly. I highly recommend that you cut a design out of scrap and actually hold it in your hand. Try all your changes out of scrap before you use your precious high carbon steel. Your sawblades will probably be a tool steel such as L6 alloy. It will be very durable, will rust, will not get extremely hard by todays standards and is a great place to start. I recommend making a Bushknife style blade first. It will have simple facets and no high polish or fancy scales. Also, hardening and tempering will not be so critical. Plain utility is what you are after. Use 5min epoxy and brass rods to anchor your scales. Surplus flooring or cocobolo deckwood is a cheap scource of stable scales that will look good too. Google "greenpete knife making video" for a good basic tutorial. Above all HAVE FUN...........................Russ K.

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

Last edited by Russ K on Sun May 15, 2011 10:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
WSS