Inscape Photo to Outline Design

Inkscape related questions, tips and topics can be posted here
CNC_rowdy
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Inscape Photo to Outline Design

Post by CNC_rowdy »

Hi All, I am very new to Inkscape and have a question. Say I have pictures of my dogs and I would just like the picture outlines of them. With maybe a few of the inner features like the eyes, nose and mouth outlines. I know how to go to path, trace bitmap etc... Maybe someone here could post a step by step process of this. The only other program I have is the standard windows paint. (I see no help there). I am no good at hand tracing. Is there a way to take the "path, trace to path black and white image" and come up with some sort of outline picture? If someone could get me going with a step by step process I would really appreciate.
Thanks,
CNC_rowdy
Go Torch 2x2 Table
Advanced Design Edge, Machine Control, Height Control
Snap & Cut Torch Holder
Hypertherm XP 45 Plasma Cutter
plasmanewbie
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Inscape Photo to Outline Design

Post by plasmanewbie »

I know that David aka adbuch has posted some step by steps of this in this Inkscape forum. I think if you were to browse through some of the topics here you would find them. I have learned a lot of Inkscape from David's tutorials.
CNC_rowdy
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by CNC_rowdy »

Thanks plasmanewbi,
I will search.
CNC_rowdy
Go Torch 2x2 Table
Snap & Cut Torch Holder
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by adbuch »