Neanderthal needs help with multiple issues. Diy cnc

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
Ezalyconfuzd1
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Neanderthal needs help with multiple issues. Diy cnc

Post by Ezalyconfuzd1 »

Hi. I'm relatively new to cnc plasma cutters. Built everything myself. Lol wich is good and bad. I'm running nema 17 stepper motors. (I know they're small.) I'm also running GRBL 1.1 32bit 3 axis controller with lightburn software and a Hobart Airforce 40I 240V 40amp Plasma cutter. I've been continuously working out bugs here and there. Right now I'm working on getting my Dani THC7SDP Stand alone/Mack 3 unit to work. And I've got questions.
20231111_160631.jpg
20231104_160002.jpg
20231103_172137.jpg
20231102_150915.jpg

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

Ezalyconfuzd1
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Re: Neanderthal needs help with multiple issues. Diy cnc

Post by Ezalyconfuzd1 »

My first question being. Where am I supposed to put the voltage reading wire on the plasma side? I put the negative on the ground clamp. But I'm not sure if I'm supposed to put the torch side positive on the torch red side or torch white.
20240112_171126.jpg
20240112_171332.jpg

Ezalyconfuzd1
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by Ezalyconfuzd1 »

Also when I tried to read the voltage on these 2 I got 334V and 621V. It's a single phase 240V 40amp machine and I was cutting 11gauge . Are those numbers even possible? Did I just read it wrong and it was 33.4Vs and 62.1Vs?
Ezalyconfuzd1
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by Ezalyconfuzd1 »

Also I can locate my torch white wire at the torch head because of the larger gauge but I have zero Idea where the torch red wires would be. Anyone know where the torch reds are?
20240112_171050.jpg
20240112_171053.jpg

Ezalyconfuzd1
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by Ezalyconfuzd1 »