New member form NY

New to PlasmaSpider? Introduce yourself to the community and tell us a little about you.
CJ68
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

New member form NY

Post by CJ68 »

Hello,

My name is JJ, I have been a mechanical engineer for 20 years and an avid automotive fabricator since the age of 10 when building my 1st gokart from the scrap bin in my uncle's farm.

I have been planning for the day that I could buy or build my 1st plasma table for a few years now. I follow a few CNC plasma specific social media outlets so I know enough to be dangerous. Just last week the owner of the company that I have worked at for 20 years gave me a brand new Bailegh PT-22 and Hypertherm 45 XP because he bought it for his home shop then decided that he never wanted to learn the software side of things (BobCAD comes with the PT-22)

As I start my journey with CNC plasma, I know right away that I would have never personally bought the PT-22 table if for nothing else it has no z-axis and THC. My 1st task after getting the PT-22 running as Baileigh intended is to start the build of a new motion control system that can support THC. Unfortunately the RichAuto A12 motion controller has no I/O to support even a stand alone THC controller. It is pursuing that plan that lead me to creating an account here on PlasmaSpider.
plasmanewbie
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: New member form NY

Post by plasmanewbie »

Welcome JJ! Sounds like a sweet deal getting that little PT-22 and PM45XP. Great base to begin with and I think you will be able to get a torch lifter on that thing somehow and do it in a way that if you do your own larger DIY table in the future you can reuse the lifter and THC. Curious how this little unit works out for you and will keep an eye out for your posts. Best of luck and have fun!
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by acourtjester »