Which Software is best? Lazycam Issue!

General software related questions should be posted here.
speedbow20
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Which Software is best? Lazycam Issue!

Post by speedbow20 »

Good day friends,

I work for the Air National Guard, we recently purchased a CNC plasma for our fabrication shop from Precision Cutting Systems out of Calgary, Ca. It comes with Mach3, LazyCam, and i purchased ViCad2 for it also. My question is, is there a software any of you might reccomend that is geared more directly for a CNC Plasma and will write/draw a program AND turn it into a G-code? Right now, I draw it in Vi-Cad, make it into a DXF file, export it to LazyCam, then post the code to Mach3. Somewhere I am getting sizing problems.

I would like to purchase just some software that would allow me to draw, and then post code to Mach3 all at one time. Does this exist? And if not, what might any of you pro`s reccomend.

I am fairly new to CNC, I understand it OK and I`m pretty good with computers for an old fart. I have a kid in my shop taking auto-cad courses and my son is taking some courses also, so I have a decent support crew!!

And, am I being an idiot, or do others here have issues with LazyCam?? If I draw a simple rectangle, say 5 X 18, when i send it to LazyCam, then post code, my machine will cut it smaller, say 4 7/8 X 17 1/4. I`m allowing .050 for offset.

HELP!

Thanks in advance folks!

Sam Heinert
boodog710
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Re: Which Software is best? Lazycam Issue!

Post by boodog710 »

Sam, I use WE-CIM. It will do all you are asking about and a lot more. Contact Gary Whitlock at 256-737-3075.
plain ol Bill
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by plain ol Bill »