Bending plate problems

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
harisfifo
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Bending plate problems

Post by harisfifo »

Hello all! I am very new to this as i have build my own cn table and ive put my plasma machine on it. Now what i want to know is, how to clear a problem. When i am cuting a 1.5 millimeters plate i have the problem that it's bending up and down and so on. When the machine stops, the plate doesn't look in line and i don't have a THC. I tryed with some water to cool it down but doesn't help much, any ideas?

And what is the best option when cutting to have a good cut on the plate. How to get a good quality on the cut?
Thank you for reading.
kel fab creations
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Re: Bending plate problems

Post by kel fab creations »

U can use weights to hold down the material. Just make sure to place them in locations where they won't get hit by the torch.
Platt Mfg
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by Platt Mfg »

use thicker material
I Love What I Do
How to portrait tutorial--------> http://youtu.be/cz3SfAz2dxo
Wesley Nichols
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by Wesley Nichols »

....not exactly sure of the complete situation, but you should be able to control a lot of your warpage by turning your voltage down, running more air or some fancy hold downs or a combination of the three.. warpage is caused by heat, and if you can run less heat, you will have less warpage even though you will have to turn your inches per minute down. hope this helps
bzzboyz
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by bzzboyz »

Also if your cutting lot of pieces out of one sheet, make sure you don't cut all of them on the same side at once. Alternate around your material so that one section doesn't get to hot.
Dennis
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Post by Dennis »