RE: PM 45 Machine Torch questions

Hypertherm Plasma Cutter discussion forum.
edclayton1
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

RE: PM 45 Machine Torch questions

Post by edclayton1 »

Hi,
I have questions about the fine cut consumables for the PM 45 machine torch. I see that they seem to be rated for 30 amps as they were originally designed for the PM 30. I want to try these out when cutting thinner metals. BTW I'm new to all this CNC plasma cutting. So please go easy on me here. :)

1. So what I am wondering is can I use the fine cut consumables (t30V) on the machine torch p/N: t45m but still use the p/n:220719 retaining cap so I have the ability to utilize the ohmic sensing feature with the feather touch device I bought form CandCNC (that I am still planning on hooking up soon)?

2. If I were to run these at 45 amps will I burn up the nozzle and electrode prematurely?

3. Can I use the deflectors that I purchased for the t45m and the swirl ring for the t45m and simply swap out the nozzle and the electrode to the fine cut p/n's?
I now this all sounds kind of dumb but it appears that many of the part numbers mentioned in the hypertherm literature appear to be compatible as near as I can figure. My goal here is to try to use my feather touch and the fine cut consumables at the same time if that is possible and if so I simply need help clearly understanding which part numbers too select to get the correct configuration. The DTHC IV manual from CandCNC trys to explain this on page 124 but it confuses me too. It seems to show that you can use mostly all T45M parts and simply change only the nozzle and the shield.