MEASURING TOOL

Inkscape related questions, tips and topics can be posted here
Post Reply
DreamsCustomWorks
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:47 am

MEASURING TOOL

Post by DreamsCustomWorks »

MY MEASURING TOOL IS MEASURING 2X WHAT IS, SAY IN A BOX.
IF I DRAW A 1' SQUARE AND MEASURE IT WITH THE TOOL THE TOOL TELLS ME ITS 2"
DO i HAVE A PARAMETER SET WRONG SOMEWHERE??
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 9083
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by adbuch »

0.jpg
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
3.jpg (8.27 KiB) Viewed 335 times
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 9083
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by adbuch »

DreamsCustomWorks wrote: Wed Jun 12, 2024 2:19 pm MY MEASURING TOOL IS MEASURING 2X WHAT IS, SAY IN A BOX.
IF I DRAW A 1' SQUARE AND MEASURE IT WITH THE TOOL THE TOOL TELLS ME ITS 2"
DO i HAVE A PARAMETER SET WRONG SOMEWHERE??
If you would care to post your actual svg file you are working with (the one with the 1" square) I will have a look to see if I can find your problem.

David
DreamsCustomWorks
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:47 am

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by DreamsCustomWorks »

I GO IN AND SET MY PARAMETERS EVERY TIME I START A NEW PROJECT.
I USE IT A LOT IN ALL OF MY PROJECTS AND ITS WORKED JUST FINE UNTIL LATELY...
CHECKED ALL OF THE THINGS YOU POINTED OUT??

THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY THOUGH.
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 9083
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by adbuch »

DreamsCustomWorks wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 5:26 pm I GO IN AND SET MY PARAMETERS EVERY TIME I START A NEW PROJECT.
I USE IT A LOT IN ALL OF MY PROJECTS AND ITS WORKED JUST FINE UNTIL LATELY...
CHECKED ALL OF THE THINGS YOU POINTED OUT??

THANKS FOR YOUR REPLY THOUGH.
You don't need to set your parameters every time you open Inkscape. You can create a default template which will automatically apply every time you open Inkscape.

David
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 9083
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by adbuch »

Here is an example. If I were actually doing this, I would start with a blank file with no drawings or images present. I just happened to have this file open - so it was convenient.

By the way, I think your CAP LOCK is stuck on your keyboard.

David
1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
User avatar
djreiswig
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1981
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by djreiswig »

adbuch wrote: Thu Jun 13, 2024 6:20 pm By the way, I think your CAP LOCK is stuck on your keyboard.
:HaHa
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)
DreamsCustomWorks
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2018 9:47 am

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by DreamsCustomWorks »

Thanks I have on a lot for doing projects.
You must have the newer version of Inkscape or windows maybe... my Doc properties page doesn't look like that.
I'm running Linux system, with older version, will that make a difference??
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 9083
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by adbuch »

DreamsCustomWorks wrote: Fri Jun 14, 2024 5:33 pm Thanks I have on a lot for doing projects.
You must have the newer version of Inkscape or windows maybe... my Doc properties page doesn't look like that.
I'm running Linux system, with older version, will that make a difference??
I am running Inkscape version 1.2.2 on Windows 7 and Windows 10. I am not familiar with the Linux versions, but I would assume they would be the same. I would expect that if you save as svg from your Linux Inkscape, I could open it with Windows Inkscape and the file would be identical to one that I would have drawn with my Windows version. If you would care to share the svg file that is causing you problems, I will be happy to have a look and let you know if I find anything out of the ordinary.

David
TJS
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 738
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by TJS »

To the OP. Save a blank canvas as InkscapeInches.svg (once you get the document properties where you want it.) Then make it a shortcut.
However when completing a drawing don't forget to "save as" . I have done this a couple of times and just did a "save". Not a big deal though, just open it up and clear out what is there. Cyrus metal works has a vid on this from a few years ago. I just kept with it.
User avatar
djreiswig
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1981
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by djreiswig »

If you make the file read only, you should not be able to accidentally save it.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 9083
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: MEASURING TOOL

Post by adbuch »

DreamsCustomWorks wrote: Wed Jun 12, 2024 2:19 pm MY MEASURING TOOL IS MEASURING 2X WHAT IS, SAY IN A BOX.
IF I DRAW A 1' SQUARE AND MEASURE IT WITH THE TOOL THE TOOL TELLS ME ITS 2"
DO i HAVE A PARAMETER SET WRONG SOMEWHERE??
Again - if you would care to either PM me your problematic svg file (or post it here) I will be more than happy to take a look and try to help you. Otherwise there is not much else I can do for you.

David
Post Reply

Return to “Inkscape”