Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's
 

Random Crash During Cut

Share and learn with other DIY members who have built their own plasma tables and accessories.
Post Reply
ForceDesigns
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:08 pm

Random Crash During Cut

Post by ForceDesigns » Thu Jan 10, 2019 12:20 am

So I've been cutting pretty steadily for the past 3 weeks and my table seems to be developing a small glitch. Wanted to ask for advice.

I was cutting a massive 45" saw blade welcome sign the other day and the torch went to probe the height using my floating head. When it went down it went a little nuts. The whole gantry went in the positive y direction and I lost position and have no idea what caused it. The torch was NOT on. It has happened a total of maybe 5 times in 3 months. But 3 of those have been in the past week. Happened again tonight in the middle of a fire pit cut, which is thicker more expensive material. I recovered and didnt lose the piece thankfully, but I'm getting nervous.

My initial thought was that since my machine communicates via ethernet, maybe I am getting interference. But that doesnt make a lot of sense with the torch not on. It is a 50' ethernet cable, so that doesnt help. My computer is ancient as well. So it might be time to upgrade. I am using mach3. Really any advice is appreciated.
Home Built 4x4 CNC Plasma Table
Ethernet Smoothstepper
C25 BOB
Proma 150 THC
Razorcut 45 with IPT-60 Machine Torch
Software: Mach3 and Sheetcam, Inventor 2019 for serious design work and Inkscape for signs

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 3376
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: Random Crash During Cut

Post by acourtjester » Thu Jan 10, 2019 10:48 am

Are you using cat 5 or cat 6e , Cat 6e is shielded and the pair twisting is tighter to help with noise.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

robertspark
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:43 pm
Location: nr Liverpool, UK

Re: Random Crash During Cut

Post by robertspark » Thu Jan 10, 2019 2:49 pm

...Ethernet smooth stepper ....
....Software: Mach3....
First question: do you have a valid, genuine licence? { a lot of fakes about and have been sold to unknowing persons }
I understand that if mach3 sees a fake licence it can send a spurious code every now and again..

Second question: As you have the ESS.... what version of Mach3 are you using?
062 is the recommended version for the ESS not 066 which is the default downloaded version or CandCNC's 067 version.

066 did some crazy stuff with the ESS when I had it (especially when I left the machine to do some probing.....)
UCCNC,
Sheetcam
Hypertherm Powermax 45 (nonXP)
Neuron Lite THC
Hobby user (4x4 home table)

ForceDesigns
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2018 7:08 pm

Re: Random Crash During Cut

Post by ForceDesigns » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:35 pm

I am pretty sure it is a valid license. I certainly paid valid license prices. Lol. It says licensed too. If I run the same Gcode, it doesnt do it again so if you mean embedded in the code that doesnt appear to be it.

I believe it may be cat5. I will find a cat 6e and see if that helps. Will also check the version. Thanks for the opinions. No one thinks my old computer might be the cause?
Home Built 4x4 CNC Plasma Table
Ethernet Smoothstepper
C25 BOB
Proma 150 THC
Razorcut 45 with IPT-60 Machine Torch
Software: Mach3 and Sheetcam, Inventor 2019 for serious design work and Inkscape for signs

robertspark
Posts: 152
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 6:43 pm
Location: nr Liverpool, UK

Re: Random Crash During Cut

Post by robertspark » Sun Jan 13, 2019 6:46 am

What is your lookahead setting?

300 lines is I think the recommended (check warp9 site)

Sorry don't use M3/ess any more.

What are you running M3 on?

Windows version?

Bit? (32/64)

What graphics card? (I've had problems with this in the past.... Because of the graphics updates to the toolpath

How much ram?
Is the machine networked?
Please don't tell me you have the ess running via a router on your home network....

Does the pc have WiFi? (Sometimes WiFi can be a problem and the recommended solution is to use a usb dongle and not the unbuilt WiFi because of the priority given to the WiFi and any polling).... Test via disabling WiFi in bios and see if problem goes away

Do you have other applications running in the background..... Try shutting them down and running the program again (antivirus use to be a problem.... That is why my machine is offline totally and just feed it USB sticks)

Is it a laptop or PC, I've heard that laptops can have problems because of inbuilt energy / power saving features
UCCNC,
Sheetcam
Hypertherm Powermax 45 (nonXP)
Neuron Lite THC
Hobby user (4x4 home table)

Post Reply