Arclight Dynamics CNC controller stuck in "hold" advice ?

Arclight Hardware discussion forum.
Post Reply
Stickman
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:31 pm

Arclight Dynamics CNC controller stuck in "hold" advice ?

Post by Stickman » Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:11 am

I have a ArcLight Dynamics 5X5 Table and have been very happy until today. Powered it up and the CNC controller is stuck in "hold" even when powered up with all motors and inputs disconnected. Has anyone encountered this and have a few troubleshooting tips? The CNC controller works with Command CNC.

Appreciate all that may help.

BanksAg
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2016 5:13 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics CNC controller stuck in "hold" advice ?

Post by BanksAg » Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:47 pm

I haven't run into that problem, but if you haven't already figured it out, give them a call. Their tech support is awesome!
Tim Eggleston
Banks High School
Banks, OR

Arc Pro 4800
PowerMax 45XP
Mach 3, SheetCam
Inkscape, Rhino 3D

tcaudle
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics CNC controller stuck in "hold" advice ?

Post by tcaudle » Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:42 pm

Motion hold? As in the HOLD LED is on on the DTHC Module? (red LED) Of you cannot get it to power up the motors (power supply fault?)

liamlrb
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:29 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics CNC controller stuck in "hold" advice ?

Post by liamlrb » Tue Sep 10, 2019 9:44 pm

The "Hold" is done for communication from the 4 port hub communications. The commands are on hold until the status is returned. It sometimes times out. Working through this problem with arclight right now. things I have checked. Ethernet cable, shielding the plasma unit from the computer. Not sure whats causing this yet

tcaudle
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1163
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Arclight Dynamics CNC controller stuck in "hold" advice ?

Post by tcaudle » Wed Sep 11, 2019 11:31 am

I depends if you are actually getting a HOLD indication or if its ESTOP. Hold is sent as a logic signal (Not RS485) from the DTHC if it fails to get an ARC OK signal from the plasma BUT if it on all of the time then the HOLD input is either locked on or th3e polarity is set wrong in the configuration.You can see that input signal in Diagnostics / Input Status second row of LEDS at the bottom. If its ON you will get a HOLD condition< no motion . The 4 port hub doe snot exert a HOLD. It sends a Watch Dog signal to the DTHC that says "hey , im here and talking" and the DTHC will not fire the torch unless it has that signal FROM the 4 Port hub,

Arclight Dynamics Tech
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:51 am

Re: Arclight Dynamics CNC controller stuck in "hold" advice ?

Post by Arclight Dynamics Tech » Fri Sep 20, 2019 5:14 pm

Edit: I see this post is from over a year ago. Other customers: please give us a call with any issues we are here to help :Like

Ok let's run through a quick diagnosis:
  • Turn your plasma cutter off, and close out of all programs on the computer.
  • Open the CommandCNC Plasma program
  • Release the "ESTOP" button
  • Open the control cabinet front door, and look at the controller. Is this light lit up?
Delta 3 rj45 left torch fire led.jpg

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here


Post Reply

Return to “Arclight Dynamics”

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm plasma cutters.