Load Metal

Share tips and tricks regarding cut cutting, material handling, metal finishing, marketing, or anything you find helpful.
RYANP60
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Load Metal

Post by RYANP60 »

I am VERY new to CNC so please be patient. I have a 4x4 table. How do I safely load a 4x4 sheet of 1/4 in or thicker metal on the table with killing myself or damaging the table? I have seen magnetic lifting magnets.....has anyone used one of these? Are they safe or a joke? Thanks for the help people.
abmetal
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Load Metal

Post by abmetal »

A lifting magnet is all I use. Bought it off Ebay. It works good.

Allen
weldor2005
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Post by weldor2005 »

I currently would be using chains a hoist and some 3/8" grab hooks on all four sides of it.
David Finch CWI

Plenty of welders
Plasmacam 4x4 with DHC2
PowerMax 45
Lots of other toys
oregonsigns
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by oregonsigns »

I AM LEANING TOWARDS A HIGH LIFT PALLET JACK. ANYONE USING ONE?
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by jimcolt »

Battery powered PrestoLift, bought it on Craigslist for about $200.

thCA4PCN1Z.jpg

oregonsigns wrote:I AM LEANING TOWARDS A HIGH LIFT PALLET JACK. ANYONE USING ONE?

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

cmercertx
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by cmercertx »

I use an engine hoist and a spreader bar I built. The chains on it are adjustable for odd shapes and sizes of material.
kkroger
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by kkroger »

Another option is a relatively inexpensive Harbor Freight or Northern Hydraulic Lift table/Cart.
http://www.harborfreight.com/1000-lbs-c ... 69148.html
With some Conveyor Rollers mounted on it (McMaster sells em or you could fab some up)