cutting tips for circles

Share tips and tricks regarding cut cutting, material handling, metal finishing, marketing, or anything you find helpful.
Little Leonard
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

cutting tips for circles

Post by Little Leonard »

Guys I'm new to the cnc plasma table and just got mine cutting last week still have a few bugs to work out but all is good. Can anyone help me out on cutting round holes, my holes are not round and cuts a a angle any help would be great here's a pic of my first try.

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

4x8 Precison plasma table
Candcnc
Sheetcam,Mach3
TD cutmaster 82
weldor2005
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: cutting tips for circles

Post by weldor2005 »

You will always have some angularity to your cut, and somewhere in this site....search field.... there was just a long drawn out thread on this very issue. basically out of round holes get better with slower cut speeds.

If you ever want to get away from having to re-drill out the hole afterwards, you need h def. or laser, or water jet.

So except it, and just drill them out.
David Finch CWI

Plenty of welders
Plasmacam 4x4 with DHC2
PowerMax 45
Lots of other toys
GoingCustom
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by GoingCustom »

Slow your cutting speed to about 60%, that will help. But ultimately as stated above, something other than a regular plasma cutter is required. Pretty much anything under 3/4" I'll drill instead of cut.
Travis
http://www.goingcustom.com
one of a kind gates, fine art and CNC designs
beefy
4.5 Star Member
4.5 Star Member

Post by beefy »

You should see Jim Colts holes he does with his Hypertherm, it just makes me want to cry :D His holes seem bolt ready straight off his table.