Is finishing always done after cutting?

Learn and share abrasive & texturing finishing techniques, experiences, and product knowledge here.
D.O.T
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Is finishing always done after cutting?

Post by D.O.T »

Hello folks,

First thing is first, i am not a machinist but a customer who is interested in purchasing a stainless steel plate and having it cut using a DXF file with a plasma cutter at a stainless steel center and distributor called Diversified Ulbrich (DU). My main problem is that i am not a professional and for this reason i am totally in the dark about how things work. Normally i do as much research as i can to not waste peoples time in forums, but right now i have hit a road block and i cant find the answers online. So here goes my questions regarding finishing.

DU says they offer the following finishes on Stainless Steel Plates: #1 HRAP, 2B, #4 Polished, Checker/Diamond, Clad.

And this is where i get confused. The confusion is because normally the finishing is done after the plasma cutting. But if they offer Checker/Diamond finishes then that finish would certainly be done at a steel producing factory and not with DU - which means the finishing is before the plasma cutting with DU.

And so, my question is which is it? Are all the finishes pre done at a steel producing factory or are they done after the cutting with DU?

Also, what if its both? In other words, what if for something like the 2B finish, which is what i want, it is done after the plasma cutting, but for the Checker/Diamond finish, it is pre done before the cutting at the steel producing factory.

Here is a link to the DU web page with the information for stainless plates and finishing.
https://www.diversifiedulbrich.ca/products/plate/

Any information and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
djreiswig
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Is finishing always done after cutting?

Post by djreiswig »