Typical finishing process...

Learn and share powder coating techniques, experiences, and product knowledge here.
Jfile
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Typical finishing process...

Post by Jfile »

Hi all. I'm new to plasma. As a matter of fact, my table is due in sometime over the next 2 weeks. I've been reading and researching and trying to learn as much as I can, although I imagine, much of what I learn will be from hands on. I mostly plan to do signs and art using most steel 1/4" and under. From what I can tell, most people use around 14 - 16 gauge.

So, my question is, what is the most common way of finishing your metal art? I know it would depend a great deal on the piece itself but would it be safe to say that most pieces are finished with a solid color of either spray paint or powder coating? I know some of the really cool American flag designs would look best using red, white and blue of course. For animal scenes, (deer, buffalo, elk, eagles, dogs etc...) would you just use a solid color?

Again, I know it will depend on the piece and personal preference, but I'm just curious what the general consensus is among those who have been doing this for awhile.

Thanks!!

Jeff
LDR 4'x4' Water Table
Command CNC Linux Controller
Plate Marker
Power Max 45xp w/ Machine Torch & Hand Torch
2 Stage filter, Motorguard filter & HF Ref Dryer
InkScape / SheetCam
nevetskrats
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Re: Typical finishing process...

Post by nevetskrats »

Jeff,