cut conditions on TD units

Thermal Dynamics plasma cutter discussion forum.
rock4xfab
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

cut conditions on TD units

Post by rock4xfab »

i have a cutmaster 51...
would like to know what others with the same are using to get quality cuts

PH
CH
IPM
arc Volts

I am still playing with some 14 gauge And really don"t like the results
srp
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Re: cut conditions on TD units

Post by srp »

Additional info will help.

Tip used: 30 or 40 Amp?
Tip PN#:
Amperage set at?:
Torch SL60?:
Cutting 14ga HR?
Although I am NO expert on TD products there is a common thread through their information - Don't believe everthing you read. I see that the Cutmaster 51 is designed as a Hand torch. In their information they don't offer a tip for machine cutting. I don't have voltage control height on my machine with the torch cutting height maintained at a consistant height. I find the best height at 1/8"(.125) using a 40 amp machine tip(9-8208). 114 IPM is probably a good speed. In other literature they suggest a PH of 3/16"(.190). The difference between the machine tip and the drag tip(9-8207) is considerable. Dont rely on just voltage setting for height. Check with a feeler gauge. Others shoud add in. Gotta run and I will follow. John
rock4xfab
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Post by rock4xfab »

srp wrote:Additional info will help.

Tip used: 30 or 40 Amp? 40amp 8207 on my Machine torch I found this after all the test cuts I was sold these with the machine torch. I have 9-8208 on order along with the 9-8245 shield cup
Tip PN#: 9-8207 have new ones on order
Amperage set at?: 40
Torch SL60?: SL 100 machine torch
Cutting 14ga HR? Yes