Issue with my Cutmaster A60

Thermal Dynamics plasma cutter discussion forum.
jpaakman
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Issue with my Cutmaster A60

Post by jpaakman »

Im sure hopping for some help from you guys.

I have a Cut Master a60 and I have it on a Torchmate 2 CNC table.

I have been experiencing issues cutting anything over 1/8" Mild steel. It seems to pierce fine.
However, after it gets the OK to move signal from the a60. It seems to just lightly gouge the top of the steel.
Once in a while it will cut fine but it is really intermittent. Most of the time it does the
light "gouge" deal.

Occasionally it will fault 85. Not sure if it is the problem or a result of the cutting issue.
I have new consumables in and everything looks ok. Thinking it could b a grounding issue. or possibly a torch (sl60) Any thoughts or ways to test either.
test gusset.jpg

Thanks in advance!

Jeremy

You currently do not have access to download this file.
To gain download access for DXF, SVG & other files Click Here

adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Issue with my Cutmaster A60

Post by adbuch »

Is the fault code displayed on the plasma cutter, or the controller for your table? Are you cutting at the correct height and with the correct air pressure? Do you have your work clamp connected directly to the sheet of material you are attempting to cut? You cuts look like your cut height is too high. Some might suggest that you have a possible moisture issue in your air lines.
David
jpaakman
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by jpaakman »

Thanks for your reply. The fault code is on the a60. I have to switch off power and back on to clear the fault. Just to be clear, it dosent always fault. Just some times between pierce and cut. I have a air drier in the system and prior to these cuts had a very clean cut (see picture).

As for height, it is as it always is for .25" mild steel. cutting at 45 IPM on a 40amp tip.

Thanks,

Jeremy
20200810_181247.jpg

jpaakman
1 Star Member