PT-37 arc start issues

Thermal Dynamics plasma cutter discussion forum.
woburn88
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

PT-37 arc start issues

Post by woburn88 »

Hello forum,

I'm having issues with my ESAB powercut 900 and the PT-37 mechanized torch. I've been using the system on a 4x8 table I built for about 7 years. I've done a lot of Ag, artsy and custom work with it but it's really never performed flawlessly. I'm running a Dragon cut system from CandCNC using Sheetcam and Mach 3.

My primary issue is a piercing consistency, meaning sometimes it will fault after 3 attempts (or less) of trying to pierce. I've worked with the local ESAB reps and sent them consumables that I was using (I've only used ESAB consumables). They tested and said they worked fine on their system.

I've had the torch apart many times to inspect, clean and debug but everything looks good. I'm convinced it's in the torch somewhere.

This power head has been replaced twice with warranty board issues. The current head is a refurbished unit replaced under warranty. It has been working okay and the board issue has must have been resolved, it's been 5 years since the it was replaced.

While it may not be a popular comment in this section of the forum I've been saving for a Hypertherm PM85 and duramax torch to replace the current unit. Outside of any "void warranty" comments would it be possible to retrofit a duramax torch to the ESAB powercut 900? While I'd like to save my funds until I can afford the complete Hypertherm package, including mechanized and hand torch, I thought I could start with a duramax torch to help my current situation.

The video is the ARC start issue that happens somewhat randomly and seems to be getting worse over time. :Mad

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: PT-37 arc start issues

Post by weldguy »