Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's
 

Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Thermal Dynamics plasma cutter discussion forum.
Post Reply
Brand X
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by Brand X » Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:06 am

Thermal Dynamics 60i cnc hook-up

I just got around to hooking up a cutmaster 60i to my table. I used some of Candcnc hook up kit to complete the job. Mostly just needed the RAV-O2 voltage card to make it work with my system.. I had the Universal Plasma connection kit for years, so I used the digital current probe i had with it.. You can use pins #12-14 on the Cutmaster's J609 connection to get arc good that way also. pins #3-4 on the same connection are the start-stop trigger wires.. Then just the negative/positive for full arc voltage.. Also on the J609 connection, but i went straight to the leads on those. Mostly because I only wanted to use the start/stop pins on the J609 connection, because i don;;t have the correct female plug for the 18 pin setup. Just wired up two pins, and pushed the in the terminal. The Digital Current probe works excellent, so no downside for me.Had it on Esab's machines, and standard cutmaster's before this one.

There is no factory CNC connection kit out for the 60i yet, although the machine will support one. Has it in the manual with a 12 pin like real cnc setups..

By the way the machine is a beast even with the old tech torch. Seems to respond to the extra power in the machine. Makes my 45XP semm sort of weak. :lol: It does auto sense the SL-100SV automation torch, but will not show on the front of the machine until plugged in. It only shows the standard SL-60 torch/SL-100 torch on the panel. That includes the SL-100 machine torch too. Which also could be used in CNC cutting.One last thing, the 60i will work with the smaller SL-40 (@40 amp max) torch. Very nice to be able use the smaller torch on sheet-metal type of stuff.. I just got done late last night, and only punched a few holes in some plate.. I will cut a bit today. Machine is pierce rated to 5/8 ,so nice upgrade in power there. Amazon was running some deals. Got down to $1306.99 , but picked mine up for $1355.31. Had the other one bought, but decided better just run with the one I had..

https://www.candcnc.com/store-home/rav- ... ider-card/
https://www.candcnc.net/store-home/univ ... ction-kit/

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


Brand X
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by Brand X » Wed Sep 26, 2018 1:27 pm

My tip voltage is low, so I have a feeling i am going to have to go through the pin 18 on the machine. Everything is working other then that. Plus there is a open circuit voltage of 12 volts on the dial.. Little bit more work.. Was throwing my arc good off since it was set a 10 volts min to move..
Edit....
Pin 18 fixed the low voltage.. Took the positive wire from the tip lug (from the voltage card, and ran to pin 18 on the J609 connection. Nice to cut 1 inch mild steel at .200 height, and not dick around at .060 Cuts a bit faster then a 45XP would, and much longer arc length doing so.. way less slag too..

Talked to Thermal a bit today..There is a cnc interface now.. (automation interface catalog number 9-8308)

brucer
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:04 pm

Re: Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by brucer » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:20 pm

I'm also thinking about getting the voltage divider for my cm52, and converting to a machine torch also.. I just dont like the raw arc voltage coming outside the machine to hook to my thc..

Brand-x what voltage divider value is the rav-02 putting out, or can you set it to various divided voltages? being your using the pwm sensor i'm guessing you have it at 50:1 or its putting out 50:1..
Also is the pwm sensor controlling your amps and air pressure of the 60i from the tool file like the hypertherm units do?

Brand X
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by Brand X » Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:18 pm

7 to 1 on the RAV-02 for when you use Tom's card/digital probe. I have a card for your cutmaster, and even the correct plug for hooking into the PWM module You can set the Thermal card to something like 20-1 and 50-1, and The PWM module accepts 7-1 20-1 50-1 voltage signal.. I have to look it over and make sure it's complete. might need the screw that goes on the board for the ring terminal (hardware store item )

I would probably let it go for $100 plus shipping.. Same card works in the 52/58/82/102/152.. Turns the Standard cutmaster into a A series with a roll bar..Just need to ad the SL-100SV torch to complete the deal..

No auto voltage control with any cutmaster's One thing the 60i does have is a omitic sensor that will work with a exposed tip. makes sense to have it with the low amp tip.. If you go that way.

brucer
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:04 pm

Re: Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by brucer » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:22 am

Let me know about the interface card I was just looking at them.. I was thinking about going with the rav-02 because it was 1/4 the price of the thermal interface card, but if I can get a thermal card for half price of a new td card I'll go that route.

If I use the interface card I can use the sl-100sv? I didnt know that..

I was thinking about just ordering a 180degree torch head and making a pvc body for it, I'm still using a hand torch and it sucks... Using a 180deg. torch body and making a pvc sleeve would save me $300, so I can buy the Price thc, tired of the Proma I have and dont like using the raw arc voltage.

Rodw
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:49 am

Re: Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by Rodw » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:28 am

I thought I would share this pic from the Linuxcnc forum
grotius.jpg
My friend in Holland has hacked the 40i/60i so he can use a digital potentiometer to set the amps on the machine. And is controlling it using Bekoff ethercat EL7041-1000 step/dir drive. Very neat setup.
https://forum.linuxcnc.org/27-driver-bo ... l?start=20

I told him to get a 40 pin breakout board and go to town with further hacking.

Sadly the new machines have yet to get to Australia so yesterday, I purchased a Thermal Dynamics A120 and hope to get it operational on my home built table tomorrow. It was very well priced brand new old stock and I went with it mainly due to the feedback from Brand X about these machines. The number of different tips that came in the starter pack is quite daunting (from 30 amps to 120 amps)

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


Brand X
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by Brand X » Thu Jan 24, 2019 8:13 am

With the Thermal interface card you will not have to hack in the arc good signal from the machine to get that working correct. Although that is using Tom's THC setup.. I use the digital probe on the work lead , although Arc good is on the Board of the 60i. I have had this system on cutmasters/esab Powercuts, and it works as well as factory stuff.. I would just look for a SL-100 SV torch for the more consistency/start cycle times over a standard torch/machine torch setup.. The 60i senses what torch is in the machine. I can't remember if the standard machines like the 52/82 etc will sense it without the card? I believe so.. Does work with the factory card for sure.

I miss using the 70 amp consumables in the 82/A-120 machines. Although the 60 amps in the 60i is really all I need for the little I do anymore..Personal use machine.. I make stuff for myself, and a few friends..

Bruce,
I will dig out the stuff today.and post pics /info I have one it.. I really hate to sell it, but it would keep me from being tempted from buying another machine..

Brand X
Posts: 496
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 2:48 pm

Re: Thermal Dynamics 60i hook-up for CNC

Post by Brand X » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:35 pm

This is complete with the male plug too.. So it will hook right up to a PWM module Just missing the one screw that goes to the Main board.. .25 cent hardware store part..

https://www.candcnc.net/store-home/mic-01-cable/

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


Post Reply

Return to “Thermal Dynamics Plasma Cutters”