Cutmaster 152 Problems

Thermal Dynamics plasma cutter discussion forum.
War Hammer
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Cutmaster 152 Problems

Post by War Hammer »

Hello all,

I am still very new to this whole CNC business. Here is my current problem, my torch will randomly not shut off. When it goes from cut path to cut path in a rapid movement it continues to cut. when I push the emergency stop on the machine the torch still stays on. This is a random occurrence and doesn't happen all the time but when it does the only way to shut the torch off is to manually shut off the plasma generator.
Then when I turn the machine back on it shows an error code (75psi blinking with error blinking)according to the manual that is a "start signal error".
After cycling it several times I can get the torch back on line and it will work for a few cuts then randomly it will fault again.
I just got the plasma generator back from the repair facility they said it tested fine and they said it is not the machine but the computer program.
I have been through the entire program with the manufacture and the system checks out.
here the specs of the system:

Dynatorch 5x10 table (Old Version downdraft table)
Dynatorch software (2012 Ver.)
Thermal Dynamics 152 (Blue Professional Version)
All cut information is set as per the Thermal Dynamics cut sheet

Any help would be awesome.
Thanks everyone.
plasmanewbie
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Cutmaster 152 Problems

Post by plasmanewbie »

Have you tried to disconnect the plasma interface cable from the machine controller to determine if the machine controller or the plasma cutter is the issue?
War Hammer
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by War Hammer »

I have not. do I do that when the machine stays on or after I reset it. I hate to sound too dumb but I am not sure how I would know by disconnecting the cable.
Would you please explain the procedure?
Thanks for reply and the help.
Brand X
3.5 Star Member