Multicam vs Fab-cut

Don't see your table manufacturer listed above? Post here in this forum.
Syndicate
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Multicam vs Fab-cut

Post by Syndicate »

Hey,
im new to cnc and looking to get a 5x10 table.
i will mostly be cutting 3/8 plate and the odd time 2" plate for sprockets
Multicam apparently is top end for cnc
Fab cut is new to the game.

i do not want to have to buy a $20,000 plasma cutter for the odd time i do 2"plate
so im pushing more to the fabcut
Fab cut offers a plasma and a torch head for dual options (powermax 65 and a number 3 torch tip will do the trick)
Multicam is plasma only
But i hear fabcut support is garbage and also that the torch head that they have attached will
warp the gantry and in no time the table will be trash. Due to the heat put off from the cutting of the torch)

Anyone have an opinion on using a torch head on the FABCUT system? i know the gantry is made of steel and is slower the multicam

Multicams is made of alum and thats why they wouldn't dare put a torch on.
Ironken
3 Star Member
3 Star Member

Re: Multicam vs Fab-cut

Post by Ironken »

I have ZERO experience with either system that you mention. I have however owned two tables. You said that you heard Fabcut customer support is crap.......RUN! The support is as important as the machine. Without it, you have a $20,000.00 boat anchor should something go wrong. Even the best machines can and will have an issue here and there and without support, you are dead in the water. My best bud has an LDR and is very pleased and Dan (owner) always responds to emails. The LDR offers a gas axe (oxy torch) option. I have a JD2 and love it but no oxy torch option that I am aware of.
gallowayr
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by gallowayr »

Did you purchase a machine?
grindergary
3.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by grindergary »

Fab cut is not the place to go. Poor customer service, lies, lies lies
4x8 Home made with Precision Plasma LLC. Gantry