Image
To close this announcement click the X in the top right corner.
Industry Pros use FastCut CNC

Setting Zero to add cut inside previous part.

Torchmate Hardware discussion forum
Post Reply
Dsilverarc33
1 Star Member
1 Star Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:29 am

Setting Zero to add cut inside previous part.

Post by Dsilverarc33 » Mon Oct 05, 2020 3:18 pm

Wondering if anyone has any tips to make adding different cut features after placing previously cut part back on the table.
Example- Cut plain square but later needed a hole cut in the center. How would you all zero back to that part and precisely cut that center hole.

User avatar
SeanP
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 927
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2013 11:50 am
Location: Co Kerry, Ireland

Re: Setting Zero to add cut inside previous part.

Post by SeanP » Mon Oct 05, 2020 4:51 pm

Something like that I find it easier zeroing on the centre of the plate to be honest, then in sheetcam centre the hole and go from there.

Leftovers from full sheets, you can still use the full sheet job file to add another part into even if the skeleton has been taken away, just enter co-ordinates from sheetcam on a remaining edge.

Cutting a row of holes along box section I get a lot better success by just touching the outside of the shield on the side of the box, then zero, then move over 1/2 width of shield + 1/2 width of box (ctrl+ arrow key is micro nudge I just nip onto thin paper using this) zero again and like before set corords in sheetcam to zero on holes, took me a while to realize that's the easiest way.
Powermax XP45
Home built table, Candcnc DTHC 2, Dragoncut 620-4
R-Tech 210 Tig, Jasic 250 mig
Sheetcam, Scanything, Coreldraw
Table build gallery

adbuch
5.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5.5 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 4495
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: Setting Zero to add cut inside previous part.

Post by adbuch » Tue Oct 06, 2020 1:34 am

I would mark center point of circle location on part, zero torch to center mark, and cut circle. Same process regardless of your CAM software. I use a pointer installed into my torch cap for precise location, something like this one.
David
https://www.ebay.com/itm/124330721730?s ... 1555.l2649
torch pointer.jpg

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here


User avatar
djreiswig
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1442
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: Setting Zero to add cut inside previous part.

Post by djreiswig » Tue Oct 06, 2020 10:10 am

I use a similar method, except I use my air scribe mounted beside my torch. I have a button to that applies the correct offset to place the torch over the exact position I placed the scribe.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

Dsilverarc33
1 Star Member
1 Star Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:29 am

Re: Setting Zero to add cut inside previous part.

Post by Dsilverarc33 » Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:00 pm

Thanks theres a little extra there for me to add most of what ive already been doing. Just kind of a pain. Full sheets are easy to add in. But Not fun throwing a single part back on just to add a hole or something.

Dsilverarc33
1 Star Member
1 Star Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2020 11:29 am

Re: Setting Zero to add cut inside previous part.

Post by Dsilverarc33 » Tue Oct 06, 2020 4:01 pm

Going to order the laser pointer.

Post Reply

Return to “Torchmate”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC