Should I purchase a used Torchmate TM3

Torchmate Hardware discussion forum
Andrewbcdueck
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Should I purchase a used Torchmate TM3

Post by Andrewbcdueck »

Hello I have been considering getting a plasma table for a few years now. I've mainly been considering Plasmacam, but yesterday I went to our local machine shop and they told me they were selling their Torchmate. They had bought it in 2009 and assembled it, built a super sturdy table, and then only used it, they swear, about 2 days in 10 years. They said the guy who knew how to use the CAD left and no one else wanted to learn. They had disassembled the unit and have all the parts. The software is Torchmate CAD 7.1. Is this still the version in use or is it WAY outdated? It is belt drive with stepper motors. Plasmacam and Gotorch praise up their servo motors. What are advantages /disadvantages of steppers vs. servos. I am thinking of mainly trying signs and metal art, does Torchmate have the necessary agility to do intricate designs? What about ease of turning scanned images into cut paths and cutting them out? How does the customer support work for the second owner? Is there any certain component that is more likely to cause problems? What kind of Plasma Cutter works with these units? The guys there had some huge expensive compressor that looked like maybe a screw compressor. Can I just get an 80 gallon regular shop compressor and get a Hypertherm 65 with a machine torch or does it require a specific unit it needs? They used a Thermal Dynamics I believe. If I get more info I will try to update this. But for now These questions are the ones I'd like answering. They did say that if we can agree on a price they would reassemble and make sure that it all worked.
1. Servo vs Stepper
2. Ease of software use with photos and art work
3. Learning curve vs DesignEdge
4. Plasma cutter requirements
5. Possible weak points to look for.
6. Software version???
Attached is a picture of the Stepper.