It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 7:46 pm

 

Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Torchmate Hardware discussion forum
t.pfaffle
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 1:47 am

Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby t.pfaffle » Mon Nov 23, 2015 5:13 pm

Hey guys, hoping someone might have some experience with similar issues.

Have a 4x4 growth series table with a hypertherm 65, torchmate THC and machine torch.

Any time I run my table over 100 inches per minute, the thing loses position pretty rapidly. I've attached a picture of a relatively small cut that shows how crooked it gets in a short time. This was only 120 inches per minute on 12 gauge sheet. This cut is also all splines and smooth corners, so no crazy direction changing.

If I stay under 100, everything is fine. Generally don't have any issues.

Anyone have any ideas? I've been through the gantry twice trying to find the issue. Re-set all the set-screws holding the pulleys onto the gears, checked tightness, etc.

It's messed up two 18" round art pieces (See the DXF section for a file!) and I don't have any more plate to waste. Tired of this thing wasting more money than it makes and really want it fixed.

Thanks folks!

You do not have access to download this dxf file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to the thousands of files shared by our members. Click Here


comeoutswingin
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 10:34 pm

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby comeoutswingin » Mon Nov 23, 2015 6:13 pm

I think your entire machine probably needs re-squared. You're probably square enough at low speed that the motors can power through and not lose position, but at high speed they have lost enough torque to not be able to power through (meaning the resistance goes up).

I used to run my machine loose, because I was never able to get it to run through its entire speed range will all bearings touching. For plasma, it worked fine.
5x10 LDR

Redneck
Posts: 266
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2012 7:16 pm

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby Redneck » Mon Nov 23, 2015 6:21 pm

I have a TM3 5x10. I have had this problem from time to time. What usually helps is 1) blowing the dirt out of the control box, 2) making sure nothing is binding on the gantry. My typical cut speed is 215 ipm on anything up to 10 ga. It doesn't take much of a snag to make it bind just a little and lose a step or two.
These things usually fix the problem......usually. Good luck to you......let us know what fixes your problem.

t.pfaffle
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Sep 29, 2012 1:47 am

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby t.pfaffle » Mon Nov 23, 2015 10:20 pm

Thanks guys. I'll re-check the squaring and clean everything out. While I re-square I'll run the gantry back and forth a few times to make sure there is no binding. Torchmate so far thinks the issue lies within the set screws or the belts, so we'll see what they can help me figure out as well.

Will report back when I verify and fix the issue just in case anyone else ever has problems.

Donnyjr
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:33 pm

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby Donnyjr » Tue Dec 01, 2015 1:55 pm

I had the same problem with my 4x4 , tried everything. My issue was the set screws on the belt drives. Once I tightened them up no problems anymore.
Hope this helps.

KKesner
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 04, 2013 7:39 pm
Location: Central PA

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby KKesner » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:08 pm

I have a 4x4 growth series as well and today it started to loose position in the same way as yours. I have checked the pulleys and belts, all are tight. I have also checked for binding in the x&y travel and there appears to be none. Have you found cause of your issue yet?

Thanks for any help,
Ken
"Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you; Jesus Christ and the American G. I. One died for your soul; the other for your freedom."

jsd010
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 12:30 am

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby jsd010 » Tue Dec 15, 2015 11:41 pm

Mine did this too. After checking for square, torchmate had me open up the signal box and turn the motor screws up. (Apparently they were all set the same from the factory) Haven't had a problem since.
Josh Dahlem
Ag Teacher
Stanley FFA

madracing007
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2014 7:00 pm

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby madracing007 » Thu Dec 31, 2015 1:53 pm

what control box are you running jsd010?

mazuk9999
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2015 12:21 am

Re: Torchmate 4x4 losing position

Postby mazuk9999 » Tue Mar 08, 2016 5:31 pm

I have 2x4 GS and 100 ipm is the max I can run no matter how simple the file is Tm keeps telling me 1 its the set screw which have not been loose yet and 2 my drawing are no good with to many nodes, It even messes up doing a simple square at anthing over 100ipm and 3 my tables not square ( im a machinist by trade so believe me when I say my table is probably the squarest GS table out there) Not far from replacing it with a different brand


Return to “Torchmate”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's