Torchmate 3 problems

Torchmate Hardware discussion forum
Post Reply
Fabkid33
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:26 pm

Torchmate 3 problems

Post by Fabkid33 » Tue May 28, 2019 7:42 pm

I'm Colt I have a metal fabrication and welding shop in Phoenix az I purchased a used torchamte 3 5x15 table and I'm having some issues when I go to cut and shape out the torch is not following the g code and jumps around all sparatic I am runing my plasma torch lines with all the other lines that run the motor signals think I'm getting interference it also has the avhc blue screen and I'm having some issues with that too when I'm in manual mode it doesn't drop the torch to cut I have to manually jog it everytime and when enable the cut the torch is on and when the part gets done cutting it doesn't shut off the torch . Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks from Colt

cuttinparts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:40 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by cuttinparts » Wed May 29, 2019 1:15 pm

Ah man that sucks, I don't have Torchmate experience but know that taking it 1 problem at a time is very important.

Get your motion issues figured out first. I have always run my plasma torch lead with my motor leads with no issue.

Does it only jump around all sparatic when the plasma cutter is on?

What plasma cutter are you using? Maybe it has a high freq start system.

Fabkid33
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:26 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by Fabkid33 » Thu May 30, 2019 1:36 am

Im using a thermal Dynamics cutmaster 52
I didn't try it without the torch off yet I will tommorrow
I cut a metal sign out for my shop without issue then I got a windows update I'm running windows 10 and I started having these issues also my z carriage was dirty got it all clean up and lubed but think it's still binding torch doesn't always touch off like it should before cutting

cuttinparts
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:40 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by cuttinparts » Thu May 30, 2019 9:40 am

Fabkid33 wrote:
Thu May 30, 2019 1:36 am
Im using a thermal Dynamics cutmaster 52
I didn't try it without the torch off yet I will tommorrow
I cut a metal sign out for my shop without issue then I got a windows update I'm running windows 10 and I started having these issues also my z carriage was dirty got it all clean up and lubed but think it's still binding torch doesn't always touch off like it should before cutting
That Cutmaster 52 shouldn't be the cause of any interference but for sure try with the plasma off. Sounds like you've nailed it down to a Windows update. You should be able to revert your PC back to before the Windows update and then just don't connect it to the internet again. Best of luck!

Fabkid33
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:26 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by Fabkid33 » Thu May 30, 2019 4:15 pm

Spend about 3 hours with torchmate tech support and looks like my motors are bad 900.00 to upgrade my motors with the adapters for gear rack and new motor cables with adapters my motor cables have been modified and they recommend new motor cables . I got a quote for the accumove controller and new z axis and new cad and new motors with drive cables it was 6800.00 what do you guys think I should do or should I just upgrade to another company like c and c

tcaudle
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by tcaudle » Thu May 30, 2019 9:22 pm

What if you could get a lower price and free shipping on the CandCNC kit?

Andrewbcdueck
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:50 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by Andrewbcdueck » Fri May 31, 2019 7:48 pm

I'm just in the process of getting my TM3 going and I've been having conversations with a automation engineer he says it IS VITALLY IMPORTANT TO GROUND YOUR TABLE to eliminate EMI( electro magnetic interference. Put a ground right through your concrete within 2 feet of the table and put a solid 6ga wire to the table for starters. I'll put a link to his youtube channel. You should try his steppers if you think thats the problem. He sells 600 oz in motors for 60-80 dollars not sure what new cables would cost but give him a try. https://youtu.be/UpJ4txXh3WM

Rodw
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:49 am

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by Rodw » Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:16 am

What I'm struggling to understand is that it was working and then all of a sudden you need to replace all the motors? I think there is another issue to solve. Grounding would be a good starts but I have a TD A120 and it agree the machine should not be the issue.

Andrewbcdueck
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 6:50 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by Andrewbcdueck » Sat Jun 01, 2019 11:25 am

Well when I did talk to the support at torchmate they asked what I was going to run my table with my design laptop with Windows 10 or my Laptop with XP and they said it would be better to use XP. So software issue could be the culprit here

tcaudle
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1126
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by tcaudle » Sat Jun 01, 2019 12:50 pm

Andrewbcdueck wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 7:48 pm
I'm just in the process of getting my TM3 going and I've been having conversations with a automation engineer he says it IS VITALLY IMPORTANT TO GROUND YOUR TABLE to eliminate EMI( electro magnetic interference. Put a ground right through your concrete within 2 feet of the table and put a solid 6ga wire to the table for starters. I'll put a link to his youtube channel. You should try his steppers if you think thats the problem. He sells 600 oz in motors for 60-80 dollars not sure what new cables would cost but give him a try. https://youtu.be/UpJ4txXh3WM
I agree with all of that except the solid wire part. Stranded wire has lots more surface area for the same gauge and works better with noise . The biggest transmitter of noise is the torch cables. Never coil them up nice an neat or put them in a bunch under your controller or the plasma cutter. A set of chap auto jumper cables gives you the gauge and stranded you need

Fabkid33
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2019 10:26 pm

Re: Torchmate 3 problems

Post by Fabkid33 » Mon Jun 03, 2019 8:11 pm

My y motor is going bad and making noise and one motor on my x is pulsing torchmate said it's probably on its way out too this all happens with my plasma off

Post Reply

Return to “Torchmate”

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's