origin on plasma cam software

PlasmaCam Hardware discussion forum
Post Reply
clamdigger1964
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:09 pm

origin on plasma cam software

Post by clamdigger1964 » Thu Feb 06, 2020 4:42 pm

what keys do you push to have the origin come up on the screen using plasma cam software
any help would be greatly appreciated

Joe Jones
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:33 pm
Location: Franklin, KY., USA
Contact:

Re: origin on plasma cam software

Post by Joe Jones » Sun Feb 09, 2020 10:50 am

I am not sure what you are asking. "To have the origin come up" ??? Tell me what you are trying to do.

Joe

clamdigger1964
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: origin on plasma cam software

Post by clamdigger1964 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:37 am

yes what keys do you push to have the orgin come up on the screen
i remember using it to use the torch point snap and other things
i thank you so much for your reply

clamdigger1964
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: origin on plasma cam software

Post by clamdigger1964 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 7:40 am

i am looking to use torch point snap on a dhc2 table with the older software
the orgin screen is the only place i know to use snap to torch i dont know of
any other way to use torch point snap or snap to torch thanks

Joe Jones
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:33 pm
Location: Franklin, KY., USA
Contact:

Re: origin on plasma cam software

Post by Joe Jones » Mon Feb 10, 2020 9:53 am

I do not know about the older 3.11 software, but for the current version of DesignEdge, the 'R' command will snap to the current torch position.

After you choose a tool, click the center button on the mouse (if you have one) to reveal the snap menu.

Joe

clamdigger1964
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 12:09 pm

Re: origin on plasma cam software

Post by clamdigger1964 » Mon Feb 10, 2020 5:29 pm

there is a way to hold down ctrl shift and 1 more button for the origin screen to come
up its been a while since i ran my table the help button in the plasmacam software does
nothing i lost the book that came with the table it has the instructions on what keys to
push for the origin screen thanks

Joe Jones
Posts: 289
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 2:33 pm
Location: Franklin, KY., USA
Contact:

Re: origin on plasma cam software

Post by Joe Jones » Tue Feb 11, 2020 9:41 am

I am not sure what you are calling the "origin screen." What exactly is displayed when you view this origin screen?

Anyway, if you are using 3.11 software, you will have to track down someone who has and knows it. I began my PlasmaCam journey with DesignEdge 4.32

Joe

User avatar
rdj357
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 620
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: origin on plasma cam software

Post by rdj357 » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:12 am

Clam,

I can't figure out how to see or know the shortcut key for the Torch Point Snap in 3.11 but what I think you're talking about opening up is the snap menu. As Joe says (and it is applicable to 3.11 also) the shortcut to the snap menu is to press the center mouse button/wheel. The key is that it must be asking for input so if you're planning to move something, open the move tool, select where on the object you want to grab it by, and then press the center mouse button/wheel and choose Torch Point Snap from the list.
Robert Johnson
----- PlasmaCam 5x10 Table -----
FourNinety Creations & Learn PC, LLC

Learn Plasmacam Website
Learn Plasmacam on Facebook
Learn Plasmacam on YouTube

Post Reply

Return to “PlasmaCam”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC