New PlasmaCam and Powermax30 XP wont cut

Hypertherm Plasma Cutter discussion forum.
jhughes
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

New PlasmaCam and Powermax30 XP wont cut

Post by jhughes »

I am new plasmaspider and to PlasmaCam and need help figuring out our table. I am a teacher and inherited a DHC2 PlasmaCam table and Powermax30 XP. The previous teachers parting gift was this set up, he assembled it but never used it. When I attempt a cut it will either start a cut and then quickly show the power on LED and the torch cap LED or not cut at all and show the same warning light. Where do I start.
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: New PlasmaCam and Powermax30 XP wont cut

Post by weldguy »

Have a good look at your consumables. First be sure they are in new or good condition and then refer to your manual to be sure they are properly installed in the torch with the correct shield if using a shield. Start there and post back. Likely just something simple since you are new to this system and just not familiar.
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by adbuch »

jhughes wrote: Tue Feb 16, 2021 7:34 pm I am new plasmaspider and to PlasmaCam and need help figuring out our table. I am a teacher and inherited a DHC2 PlasmaCam table and Powermax30 XP. The previous teachers parting gift was this set up, he assembled it but never used it. When I attempt a cut it will either start a cut and then quickly show the power on LED and the torch cap LED or not cut at all and show the same warning light. Where do I start.
I would recommend taking a look at the Hypertherm owner's manual to see exactly what those error lights mean. They may list some possibilities for how to correct the problems. It would also be a good idea to try cutting manually by hand as well.
David
rdj357

Post by rdj357 »