Powermax 45 XP- no arc voltage (pins 5 & 6)

Hypertherm Plasma Cutter discussion forum.
Plasma629
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Powermax 45 XP- no arc voltage (pins 5 & 6)

Post by Plasma629 »

Hello All,

Im new to plasma and was connecting my CNC-THC-45 XP.

I connected pins 5&6 from CPC to my THC for the voltage but it was not reading any, I checked with a multimeter and in fact there is no voltage coming out of pins 5&6.

I have the 45xp at 15 amps with a machine torch, is this unit defective?

FYI I have not even used this unit to cut a cm yet, never fired.

I read someplaces the arc voltage is there when the torch is fired but how will my THC know to set height if thats the case?

any help will be appreciated...

regards,
Plasma629
plasmanewbie
5 Star Elite Contributing Member
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Powermax 45 XP- no arc voltage (pins 5 & 6)

Post by plasmanewbie »

Voltage will only be present on the CPC pins when an arc is present. Your THC will be waiting to see the voltage when you begin cutting, there will likley be a readout on somewhere either on your THC or in your software interface that will display the arc voltage when an arc is fired. Give it a test fire to see and good luck.
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Powermax 45 XP- no arc voltage (pins 5 & 6)

Post by acourtjester »