It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:08 pm

 

Voltage divider

Hypertherm Plasma Cutter discussion forum.
Metriccar
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 493
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 9:56 pm

Voltage divider

Postby Metriccar » Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:20 pm

I have a powermax65. The voltage divider is set default at 50. What is this fir and how do I know the correct setting?

jimcolt
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2009 11:18 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: Voltage divider

Postby jimcolt » Sun Aug 25, 2013 9:45 am

The CPC port / voltage divider is optional on Powermax65, 85 and 105 systems. You know you have it if there is a circular plastic electrical connector on the rear panel of the Powermax. This receptacle is the interface connector for use on mechanized cutting applications, when used with the machine torch. It has two pins for the plasma start input (will not function with a hand torch for safety reasons), two pins for an arc transferred output (used to start machine motion) and two pins for divided arc voltage output (used for feedback for arc voltage based torch height control).

The voltage divider produces an analog DC voltage that increases with a longer arc and decreases with a shorter arc. It has 5 settable ratios (20:1 , 21.1:1 , 30:1 , 40:1 , and 50:1 ) that allow you to match up the output voltage level to many commercially available height control systems on the market. Hypertherm height controls use the 50:1 ratio, so that is the default setting. If you have a PlasmaCam table...it uses the 21.1:1 setting. The ratio is changed by pulling the cover off the Powermax and setting a small series of switches per instructions in the operators manual.

If you have no height control system....then the voltage divider output is not being used. The setting has no effect on cutting if there is not a height control system on your cnc machine, or if you are cutting by hand. If you have a Powermax that does not have the CPC / Voltage divider, it can be ordered in a field installable kit form from any Hypertherm dealer.

Jim Colt


Metriccar wrote:I have a powermax65. The voltage divider is set default at 50. What is this fir and how do I know the correct setting?

caschatzle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:49 am

Re: Voltage divider

Postby caschatzle » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:10 am

This is an old post but hoping to get Jim Colt's attention, lol.
I am not getting a voltage feedback from my Powermax 85.
Hypertherm serviced and replaced the power board, and still no feedback.
Could it be this voltage divider board or something in the torch itself?

tcaudle
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Voltage divider

Postby tcaudle » Thu Aug 16, 2018 1:44 pm

This may sound silly but how do you KNOW you are not getting divided voltage out of the Hypertherm? Have you checked at the specific pins on the CPC connector (5 & 6 ) and fired the torch by shorting pin 3 to 4?
When you say "his divider board" are you referring to some external divider board outside the unit?

caschatzle
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2017 9:49 am

Re: Voltage divider

Postby caschatzle » Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:21 pm

Yes, I am getting 0.20 Volts DC at the pins in the CPC port. I replaced the external PWM module. I'm thinking the internal one is fried also.

tcaudle
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 6:47 pm

Re: Voltage divider

Postby tcaudle » Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:15 pm

The PWM module just "scales " the divided votage to give it a 0-5V range. It has to have the 50:1 voltage out of the plasma (about 3.2 volts when the torch is fired in the air on a Hypertherm power max.
So if the internal 20:1 PRIMARY divided on the main board of the Hypertherm was fixed then it leaves the Secondary divider card (with the dip switches)
Thats not too expensive.
Al alternative to out of warranty hypertherm units is to buy our RAV-02 Voltage divider Card and take the voltage off the Raw arc volts. I know this will raise the question if the RAV-02 is a 50:1 divider or can be used with any THC so the answer is no. Its not a standard ratio (7:1) that hearkens back to our earliest THC in 2004 before units had internal dividers. The PWM has that ratio option.


Return to “Hypertherm Plasma Cutters”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's