mach3 setup

Mach3 and Mach4 questions, tips and topics can be posted here
chevyguy55

mach3 setup

Post by chevyguy55 »

I'm very new to cnc. Have a plasma table I build from a camcutcnc kit with a Lincoln's 25 plasma cutter. At first I was able to cut several of the sample gcodes using mach3 that came with kit Then got sheetcam to try some dxf files that's when everything went to sh...... :somehow I've change configuration in mach3 first while loading gcode the screen went to a blank screen.when I finally got back to main screen the lights next to x,y,z,and a wouldn't turn green.Again I was able to get X,Y,Z to turn green but not A.Now when after loading gcode and starting cycle it stops at M3 if I hit start again the gcode resumes but not the plasma.
I think M3 must turn on or off plasma cutter.This is how new I am don't know g or m codes and other term of the industry (e i DRO'S ,THC,AND WORK OFFSETS to say a few)
CAN ANYONE MAKE SENSE OF MY PROBLEM AND HELP
THANKS SO MUST
fab-man
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Re: mach3 setup

Post by fab-man »

Have you tried loading and running some of the sample gcode files that came with your kit. Since they worked before I am curious to see if they still do.

If all else fails try doing a Windows system restore to a date prior to running Sheetcam files.

Fab-man
chevyguy55

Post by chevyguy55 »

fab-man
I tried that first thing but no good.I've got mach3 reinstalled but haven't tried it yet
thanks for the reply
fab-man
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

Post by fab-man »

That may work however Windows registry may have still retained the previous "non functioning" setting. Depends on how Mach 3 is designed.

I am no pro but in the past I have been able to solve issues like this with the Windows System Restore as I mentioned earlier. It will change the registry setting back to the way they were the day that you selected for the restore date.