It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 3:15 am

 

Mach control input devices...

Mach 3 CNC from Artsoft questions or tips can be posted to this forum.
davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Mach control input devices...

Postby davek0974 » Thu Aug 13, 2015 2:40 pm

Building a new table so it seems a good idea to fix other little niggles at the same time. One of these is the keyboard / mouse.

The keyboard is mostly not used, just a few keys, the mouse gets full of crap and needs space to work.

I thought of a touch-screen monitor but then i lose the jog arrow keys which are far better than the tab fly-out screen in Mach.

I then thought of a keyboard track-pad but these are pretty expensive.

Next up was a keyboard track-ball - this is possibly what i'll get but is there a better method????

I can't fit a pendant as the serial port is used by my THC, so i need an easy method to jog the torch around.


Any ideas :D :D

User avatar
acourtjester
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 3215
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: Pensacola, Fla

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby acourtjester » Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:43 pm

Two other ways
Buy the wireless remote from plasma spider very small and has the arrow and page up/down keys. With a finger pad for moving around the screen and a keyboard for typing in instructions shop/remote.html
If you just want to move the torch around use a X box controller (the wired one, wireless did not work for me) it has about a 6' cord one jog stick for X & Y and another for Z. Plugs into a USB port.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
CandCNC DTHC-IV & Feather Touch
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PM 256 tig

m_drunk
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:10 am

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby m_drunk » Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:25 pm


davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby davek0974 » Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:32 pm

nice ideas, thanks,

going to try the joypad with mach plugin first, seems good.

Can g-code be run from a sub stick or does it have to be loaded on the hard drive????

m_drunk
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 8:10 am

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby m_drunk » Thu Aug 13, 2015 4:34 pm

sticks work fine.

User avatar
exapprentice
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:57 pm
Location: Wiltshire, UK

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby exapprentice » Thu Aug 13, 2015 5:21 pm

Hi Dave

If your thinking about upgrading the THC and getting it from CandCNC why not go for it and get the PN200 + Hub
at the same time, mine worked a treat

davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby davek0974 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:16 am

Thanks

the upgrade is on hold until i see what happens with my existing system, but will add that to the list thanks

Thor
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:57 pm

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby Thor » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:29 am

I got a industrial kiosk keyboard for mine with trackball. supposed to be dust proof etc (think atm type). a few keys less than a standard keyboard (no pgup/dwn, had to put z jog on diff keys) but seems to be working fine. One of these days I'll make up a place to actually mount it. fleabay was only like $60. so not too much more than a nice keyboard and mouse, and it is single usb plug

davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby davek0974 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 10:25 am

I did a search for that sort of stuff but eBay is a bit empty at present, lots of nice keyboards etc but nothing that jumped out and said "this will work" :D

I have a joypad on the way, got the plugin installed etc, should work ok but although i see i can trigger the "Load G-Code" button with it, is there a way to select and load a file or not??

Probably needs the mouse/trackball etc as well?

Can code be run from a USB stick or not??

User avatar
exapprentice
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 1:57 pm
Location: Wiltshire, UK

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby exapprentice » Sun Aug 16, 2015 5:56 am

Hi Dave

have a look at :
http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from= ... l&_sacat=0

There seems to be a few options that might work for you ;)
Good luck
Regards
exapprentice

davek0974
Posts: 743
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 8:30 am
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Contact:

Re: Mach control input devices...

Postby davek0974 » Sun Aug 16, 2015 7:19 am

Thanks, some good stuff there :D


Return to “Mach3 CNC”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Easyscriber engrave attachment for Hypertherm torch's