How to use EasyScriber with Mach4

Mach3 and Mach4 questions, tips and topics can be posted here
Post Reply
Koenbro
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:00 am

How to use EasyScriber with Mach4

Post by Koenbro » Sun Apr 04, 2021 9:16 pm

I have an Avid CNC RouterPro setup with OEM configuration of Mach4, and use it in both router and plasma (Hypetherm Powermax 45XP) configurations; have the THC from Avid and there is no customization, everything is as sold by Avid.

I have recently added an EasyScriber marking tool, but was unable to make it work with Mach4. The program starts, goes to position, then slowly descends, compresses the scriber, then compresses the torch until it triggers the mechanical switch inside the torch holder and then stops. My workflow starts with Fusion 360 -> export draft as DXF (or Adobe Illustrator exported as DXF) -> SheetCam -> Mach4. I followed the instructions on the Easyscriber website to configure a dedicated tool (feedrate 100ipm, cut height 0in, start delay 0s, pause at end 0s).

How should I configure Mach4 to make scribing possible? I tried turning off the three switches in the Mach4 > THC Anti-Dive tab (Time Delay, Velocity Based, and Voltage Based Anti-Dive) with no benefit. The Hypertherm plasma generator is set to marking/gouging mode at 10 Amps although that probably shouldn't matter, as the generator detects that a torch error. I can post pictures/video if needed.

Thank you for any advice.
Avid CNC RouterParts Pro 4'x2' with Hypertherm 45XP

User avatar
djreiswig
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1081
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: Bow to use EasyScriber with Mach4

Post by djreiswig » Sun Apr 04, 2021 9:18 pm

You got a couple answers over here on your other post.
viewtopic.php?f=172&t=32166&p=196064#p196064
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

Koenbro
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2020 1:00 am

Re: How to use EasyScriber with Mach4

Post by Koenbro » Mon Apr 05, 2021 12:13 pm

djreiswig wrote:
Sun Apr 04, 2021 9:18 pm
You got a couple answers over here on your other post.
viewtopic.php?f=172&t=32166&p=196064#p196064
That ^ is where the full discussion is, but in case someone has the same question in the future, and stumbles upon this thread, here is the answer.

Although you need to turn the THC off, that is necessary, but not sufficient. You also have to turn the torch off, or otherwise ensure the program is not waiting for the Arc OK signal. One way to do it is manually in Mach4. When the program stops,it had just turned the torch on, and is waiting for Arc OK, so simply switching the torch back off will suffice. A more elegant solution is to disable the torch in G code. I looked for M62 and commented it out.
Avid CNC RouterParts Pro 4'x2' with Hypertherm 45XP

Post Reply

Return to “Mach3 & Mach4 CNC”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC