Don't understand this setting Mach3

Mach3 and Mach4 questions, tips and topics can be posted here
Post Reply
Greolt
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 12:36 am

Don't understand this setting Mach3

Post by Greolt » Fri Dec 18, 2020 6:38 pm

I have never understood this setting in Mach3. Seems to be counter intuitive.

Art Fennerty (Mach3 creator) always had a somewhat haphazard way of naming settings etc in Mach3

That is not to disparage the man. I will always be thankful for the part he played in me getting started in CNC all those years ago.

This pic is borrowed from acourtjester. Hope you don't mind.

.

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here


sonbakler
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 3:47 am

Re: Don't understand this setting Mach3

Post by sonbakler » Fri Dec 18, 2020 8:04 pm

Not real familiar with mach but maybe it gives you the ability to jog the Z up and down manually while cutting with the auto torch height control turned off

User avatar
East German
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 521
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:21 am
Location: Stapelburg Germany

Re: Don't understand this setting Mach3

Post by East German » Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:36 am

You can control it by hand when the THC is off. This means that an external height control with cutting rules can be implemented very well.
I've used it for many years.


Peter
Sorry for my language! The last English class was in 1982.

Homemade CNC Plasma-Watertable
MyPlasmCNC
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Machine Torch
Hypertherm Powermax 1100
Machine Torch

Greolt
Posts: 103
Joined: Mon May 18, 2015 12:36 am

Re: Don't understand this setting Mach3

Post by Greolt » Wed Dec 23, 2020 9:59 pm

Thanks for the reply.

Does that mean that you can vary the height of the Z axis, while cuts are happening and THC is turned off, by another method.

Some sort of manual torch height control.

For example, do a manual torch height adjustment whilst a cut is happening, via say a keyboard input.

Post Reply

Return to “Mach3 & Mach4 CNC”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC