PlasmaCam Design Edge not cutting the whole design errors

Plasmacam software related questions and tips can be posted here
shawnrl
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

PlasmaCam Design Edge not cutting the whole design errors

Post by shawnrl »

Hi there -

I am new to all of this. I am working with the Plasmacam Design edge system. I have gone through manual after manual trying to figure out why this keeps happening. I have wasted over $300 in metal so far and I can't figure this out. I am in need of help. If this is in the wrong section, forgive me and please redirect me.

I will describe my setup;
4x4 Plasmacam Design Edge advanced software
90 PSI 80 Gallon air compressor
Powermax Hypertherm Plasma set at 45AMPs
In line filter for moisture buildup
Table is grounded at 2 different locations
Tip is clean

Please note; all the images are made in a adobe illustrator first and saved as a DXF file.

In the software when you convert to cutpaths, you run an intersection error process to see if there is any errors when it cuts. When doing that prior to cutting, nothing shows up. I've attached the image below on just freshly converted cut path. I've also attached all the settings I have inputted in the offset/convert settings. These were inputted based on the booklet provided by the plasma, that is also attached.

During the cut it will skip small sections, approx. a few centimeters in length, image attached. I tried the cut again to see if it would repeat the results and it did, exact same place each time. When I go back to the software, it now shows on the cut paths that have gaps in them with a green line going above it. I have attached that image as well.

I don't know what else to try - I am at the point of giving up. I hope this is a simple thing to fix and there is so setting I'm missing.
20210102_144139.jpg
20210102_144336.jpg
20210102_144257.jpg
20210102_144250.jpg
20210102_144217.jpg
20210102_144221.jpg
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member