Importing Bitmap Image

Post your questions or tips on Plasmacam software in this topic.
Post Reply
Triumph
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2020 11:34 am

Importing Bitmap Image

Post by Triumph » Thu Oct 15, 2020 9:01 pm

New to Plasma Cam and need help with importing a bitmap image into Design Edge. I have a black and white image that has been converted to a bitmap file and put on a USB flash drive. The following is what I have tried. I have opened Design Edge, clicked new drawing, grid shows up on the monitor screen, click file, Import, Import dialog box appears and the image is listed, click on the image to be imported, file name appears in the file name box, click open, Import bitmap image dialog box appears with the image, show image in drawing is checked, convert to vectors is checked, convert to colors is black and white, click next, Pick background colors, click white, click next, Image type solid is checked, click next and the Image appears on the screen with a green outline and there are no grid marks to position the work on to the metal to be cut. What am I doing wrong?

adbuch
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: Importing Bitmap Image

Post by adbuch » Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:56 am

Here is a sample bitmap image and the steps I would use to import/trace using Design Edge. The imported image normally comes in displayed at the lower left corner of the screen - which would be the front left corner of the Plasmacam table. You can use the move command "M" to move it around the table and position it at the exact location you want to cut it from your sheet metal. This particular example would need some editing (in Design Edge) before it is ready to create cut paths.
David

Step 1 - Rabbit - bitmap image to import
rabbit.png
Step 2 - Import Bitmap
Step 2 - Import Bitmap Image.jpg
Step 3 - Select Background Color - Black
Step 3 - Pick Background Color - Black.jpg
Step 4 - Select Image Type - Outline
Step 4 - Select Image Type - Outline.jpg
Step 5 - Click "Next" to display bitmap image and vector paths
Step 5 - Click Next to display bitmap image and vector paths.jpg

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here

Last edited by adbuch on Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:24 am, edited 2 times in total.

adbuch
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: Importing Bitmap Image

Post by adbuch » Fri Oct 16, 2020 12:58 am

Step 6 - Uncheck "Show Bitmap" to hide Bitmap
Step 6 - Uncheck Show Bitmap to hide Bitmap.jpg
Step 7 - Vector Image ready for editing and creating cut paths
Step 7 - Vector Image ready for editing and creating cut paths.jpg

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here


johno down under
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:12 am

Re: Importing Bitmap Image

Post by johno down under » Fri Oct 16, 2020 1:53 am

good on you, adbuch.... for taking the time to explain something to a beginner.
Johno

Triumph
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2020 11:34 am

Re: Importing Bitmap Image

Post by Triumph » Fri Oct 16, 2020 7:47 am

thank you adbuch I will try that

adbuch
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: Importing Bitmap Image

Post by adbuch » Sat Oct 17, 2020 12:29 am

Triumph wrote:
Fri Oct 16, 2020 7:47 am
thank you adbuch I will try that
Let us know how it goes for you. Lately I have been using Inkscape or LightBurn for auto tracing jpeg/bitmap images and I find it much quicker and more convenient than importing to Design Edge.
David

User avatar
rdj357
Elite Contributing Member
Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 672
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 4:40 pm

Re: Importing Bitmap Image

Post by rdj357 » Mon Oct 19, 2020 11:15 am

Triumph wrote:
Thu Oct 15, 2020 9:01 pm
...the Image appears on the screen with a green outline and there are no grid marks to position the work on to the metal to be cut. What am I doing wrong?
You just need to press F11 or toggle the Show Bitmap option in the view menu to hide the picture so you can see the grates/table.

Post Reply

Return to “Plasmacam Software”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC