Torchmate EDU to DXF File

Torchmates software related questions and tips can be posted here
CoachPayne
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Torchmate EDU to DXF File

Post by CoachPayne »

Good afternoon Guys and Girls,

I'm a High School Welding Teacher. I have always had a Torchmate and all the files I have from about 5 years of CAD are all Torchmate EDU files. I saved all of my files when I moved school districts but I did not realize you have to have the Master version of Torchmate CAD in order to export as a DXF file. Well I found that out after I no longer have access to the Master version. I have a file that I need to cut that took me several hours to create and went to convert it so my new table would accept the file but I can not convert it to DXF.

So my first question is, does anyone know of a way to convert them? Second would anyone that has torchmate CAD be willing to convert a few files for me so I can cut this firepit?

Thanks in Advance.
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Torchmate EDU to DXF File

Post by adbuch »

I am sorry to say that I don't know of any way to convert your Torchmate EDU files. I wonder what it would cost to purchase a seat for the Torchmate software. If you have many files to do, then that might be a possibility.
David
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by weldguy »

From the Torchmate website

"Each Torchmate EDU software package comes with one master license and an unlimited supply of student licenses. The only difference between the two licenses is in the exporting of files. The master license is the only license allowed to export readable CAD/CAM files. Student licenses are limited to exporting .edu files, which allows the teachers to moderate and approve student-designed artwork, giving them more control of how the table is used in the classroom."

Looks like you need the PC with the master license to export usable CAD/CAM files.

Maybe this info will help you to get usable files. Good luck.
adbuch