3D software questions

General software related questions should be posted here.
ShowbizAsh
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

3D software questions

Post by ShowbizAsh »

I am wanting to learn either Fusion 360 or Solidworks. I have been watching some videos and trying Fusion and it is still feeling clunky for me. Should I persevere or should I go to Solidworks? . I see adds for Solidwork lessons that also give a discount on student version software. I have had years with Google sketchup so not a complete noob with 3D but I can see how these are much better.

I would like to know people’s views. Does anybody here have experience with both programs? I like that Fusion has a sheet metal tab, does Solidworks have similar?
Pros and cons for either programs?. The easiest one for me to get up and running would be great.

I should add that I would be using it to draw the complete design in 3D and take it apart to turn into 2D on fast cad etc.

Looking forward to your advice.
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: 3D software questions

Post by adbuch »

I have experience with both SolidWorks and Fusion 360. I purchased a seat of SolidWorks 2016 and have used it quite a bit for modeling parts and producing drawings. My feeling is that it is a nicer package for strictly modeling and creating drawings. One drawback for me is that it does not have an included CAM portion. I have since switched over to Fusion 360 and find that it has more capabilities, a much simpler and more intuitive user interface, and allows for creating tool paths and post processing for cnc plasma, cnc wood routing, cnc machining, etc. - although I really don't use it for those functions. I use Design Edge for cnc plasma, Aspire for cnc wood routing, and a combination of AutoCAD/Brickscad/MasterCAM for cnc machining.