Image
October EasyScriber Giveaway
Industry Pros use FastCut CNC

Command cnc upgrade need help

General software related questions should be posted here.
Post Reply
OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Mon Sep 12, 2022 8:32 pm

Got all axis calibrated and running right direction. Load a file press run and everything starts right but Z goes down -.750 and stops. Any ideas anyone please? Here's a couple of screen pics.
20220912_171112.jpg
20220912_171027.jpg

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here

5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Mon Sep 12, 2022 8:44 pm

Can't get Z input to work could be the problem but don't know what to do
5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 5787
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by adbuch » Tue Sep 13, 2022 9:32 am

OTHill wrote:
Mon Sep 12, 2022 8:32 pm
Got all axis calibrated and running right direction. Load a file press run and everything starts right but Z goes down -.750 and stops. Any ideas anyone please? Here's a couple of screen pics.20220912_171112.jpg20220912_171027.jpg
Is that 0.750" above the material surface? If not, how high is it above Z=0?, I am assuming that you have zeroed it out to the top of material.

David

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1285
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by weldguy » Tue Sep 13, 2022 10:23 am

Are you able to post the g code and show what line the machine stops at when Z reaches -.750"?

TJS
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by TJS » Tue Sep 13, 2022 10:56 am

Not sure what you are running for your Z car. Does the AUX1 input lite up on the input status screen (orange wire) when you touch the plate. I remember when I wired my Z up I had to separate the Orange wire and put it to the AUX1 on the card. There are updates to the instructions on this in the documentation and or updates on the CNC site. In your config for Z axis did you calculate the switch offset. The FAQ on Command CNC tell you how to do it. Then when you perform a home Z it should come down and touch the plate and move up the value of the offset. Your .750 is your safety margin(forget the exact terminology) for tip up clearance. I have mine at 1.00". Show your config settings for Z probe and home. I will check mine when I get home. The theory behind this if the Probe does not work (rusty plate, paint etc) then the Z home mechanical switch will take over.
T.J.

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:16 pm

I'm not running ohmic sensing just mechanical sencing. I don't know all the right terms for this stuff. My main thing now is I must get my Z switch working as it will not light up the led on commandcnc screen when I lift z manually. I don't know why. The switch does work when I check it with multi meter.
5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

TJS
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by TJS » Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:39 pm

What does your configurator settings denote. It should be just then Z home switch and no probe. Also have you set your offset.

https://www.candcnc.net/knowledgebase/h ... ch-offset/

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Tue Sep 13, 2022 12:59 pm

20220913_095543.jpg

This is my Z settings . There is no way to set awitch offset if Z switch is not working is there?

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here

5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Tue Sep 13, 2022 1:19 pm

Well dummy! The Z switch is not plugged into the controller and I have no idea where it goes Gotta search some more. Grrr
5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

TJS
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by TJS » Tue Sep 13, 2022 1:52 pm

Wires go into the I/O card male spades if that is what you call it(I don't know all the right terms either). Z-Home is the label for one wire. Then the other wire one goes into the COMS coming from COMs on your switch for what can remember.

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:27 pm

20220913_112411.jpg
These ones?

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here

5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

TJS
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by TJS » Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:30 pm

I don't think so there are more spades than that and I remember seeing a Label Z-Home.I see you posted on CNC. Maybe they can answer. Albeit I might have an older system than you.

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Tue Sep 13, 2022 2:40 pm

I do have the very latest. Just shipped a week ago.those are the only 2 spades. Guess I'll have to wait for Candcnc it's a little slow over there seems like. Thanks alot tjs.
5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

User avatar
djreiswig
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by djreiswig » Tue Sep 13, 2022 5:36 pm

Cross posted on CandCNC Support Forum
https://www.candcnc.net/supportforum/vi ... hp?p=19698
Posting the same question on different forums without linking them makes it hard to follow.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

User avatar
djreiswig
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1607
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by djreiswig » Tue Sep 13, 2022 5:49 pm

Firstly, have you checked the manual? There's all sorts of helpful information in there.
Here is a link to the manuals.
https://www.candcnc.net/manuals/
This may help you locate where to connect your z home switch.
Screenshot_20220913-164238(1).png

You do not have access to view or download this file.
Become a Contributing Member to gain access to this feature. Click Here

2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

TJS
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by TJS » Wed Sep 14, 2022 7:41 am

He does not have that card 12.3 Rev. That is what I thought he has. He has G5 with Card i/o 17. I see he got it to work.

adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
6 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 5787
Joined: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:22 pm
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by adbuch » Thu Sep 15, 2022 11:09 am

Great discussion! I will look forward to the resolution to this dilemma.
David

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Thu Sep 15, 2022 1:32 pm

djreiswig wrote:
Tue Sep 13, 2022 5:49 pm
Firstly, have you checked the manual? There's all sorts of helpful information in there.
Here is a link to the manuals.
https://www.candcnc.net/manuals/
This may help you locate where to connect your z home switch.
Screenshot_20220913-164238(1).png
Have I checked the manual? I've waded around in the manuals for the last 4 weeks. I have a very hard time picking out what relates to my system. For instance having the DTCH 5 and there being no complete manual labeled that way. I'm am totally tech illiterate and wouldn't get to first base without the help of all you good people on here. So thank you all for your help. djreiswig your diagram is what did it for me. Thanks! Allan.
5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

TJS
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 454
Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2014 1:22 pm
Location: Fairfield, CT.
Contact:

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by TJS » Thu Sep 15, 2022 1:58 pm

OTHill wrote:
Thu Sep 15, 2022 1:32 pm
djreiswig wrote:
Tue Sep 13, 2022 5:49 pm
Firstly, have you checked the manual? There's all sorts of helpful information in there.
Here is a link to the manuals.
https://www.candcnc.net/manuals/
This may help you locate where to connect your z home switch.
Screenshot_20220913-164238(1).png
Have I checked the manual? I've waded around in the manuals for the last 4 weeks. I have a very hard time picking out what relates to my system. For instance having the DTCH 5 and there being no complete manual labeled that way. I'm am totally tech illiterate and wouldn't get to first base without the help of all you good people on here. So thank you all for your help. djreiswig your diagram is what did it for me. Thanks! Allan.
I 100% agree. The manuals need a complete revamp and real technical writers.

OTHill
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
3 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 520
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2012 12:08 pm

Re: Command cnc upgrade need help

Post by OTHill » Thu Sep 15, 2022 6:46 pm

I wouldn't take the job for any money! I used to build portable bandsawmills and one day sat down to write an operators manual. Never got to the second page. I really feel for Tom over at Candcnc. He must tear his hair out some days.
5x10 table,Precision plasma gantry,Cand CNC electronics,Hypertherm 65 plasma,King lathe and mill,255 lincoln mig welder.Dawson Creek BC. Much modified Fastcut 4x8 plasma table with Ethercut

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC