new plasma cutter

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
Nevadasmith
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

new plasma cutter

Post by Nevadasmith »

Hi, I am new here and have a few questions about plasma cutters. I am a General Contractor building a log home and would like to buy a plasma cutter on ebay. I have seen 50a cutters for around 400.00. I will be cutting around 1/8 steel for some of the art projects I want to do, such as railing scenes and light covers. I was wondering if this would do the job, I will need it to be a nice clean cut, wondering about the tips if they come in different sizes, what I would need for tip size and if I can run this off my regular 5 gal compressor. I think it needs between 40-70psi. Thanks for the forum and the help in advance.
Washington Apple
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Re: new plasma cutter

Post by Washington Apple »

Personally I would make sure you get a respected brand name cutter too, ebay has allot of cheap Chinese units that most likely wont last long in a production environment, not to mention availability of consumables might be problematic. I have a Thermal Dynamics cutter, but there are several good brands to choose from like Hypertherm , Esab, Lincoln, Miller, and others.
50 amps is more than enough for 1/8" plate. Mine is a 40 amp and it will cut 1/8" without breaking a sweat. So you can go a little smaller if you need to, but I would avoid the 110 Volt models and stay with 220 Volt myself.
Nevadasmith
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Post by Nevadasmith »