My cnc isn't cutting sharp edges

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
nikolakuzzz
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

My cnc isn't cutting sharp edges

Post by nikolakuzzz »

Hello, I'm pretty new to the CNC Plasma cutting thing, having recently built my own table. For now I attached to it the plasma i already had, Cebora Plasmaprof 120, but I'm having some difficulties while cutting, most notably it does not cut straight edges.

I'm using Mach3 and SheetCam, and the 5mm thick parts were cut with 80A. My axis calibration seems to be ok, with barely a milimeter of extra.
I'm grateful for your help in advance.
acourtjester
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: My cnc isn't cutting sharp edges

Post by acourtjester »

I would say your torch is not perpendicular to the table surface, or there is a problem with the plasma stream (air flow out of the torch).
Some have had problems with an "O" ring inside the torch with Hypertherm torches, I don't know about the Cebora if they have any. Also grud on the torch tip can effect the plasma stream too, or wear. If you have had pierced to close it can blow out the nozzle so it is out of round. You show one direction of the angle cut but the cut pattern and the angle seem to be in one direction I would look at torch angle first.
DIY 4X4 Plasma/Router Table
Hypertherm PM65 Machine Torch
Drag Knife and Scribe
Miller Mig welder
13" metal lathe
Small Mill
Everlast PowerTig 255 EXT
Rodw
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by Rodw »

I would check there is no play in any motion components or the torch slide. The inner corners are not consistent.
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by weldguy »