XPR 300 2inch Pierce Questions

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
Dsilverarc33
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

XPR 300 2inch Pierce Questions

Post by Dsilverarc33 »

Using Alltra table and burny S10 software with Pronest. We just hooked up argon assist it helped a lot when coming to 2 inch. My question is what pierce hight and time hold do you all like for this setup 300 amp consumables. Cutting Shape Parts Great Right now. But I have a ton of parts to cut with hole details inside the parts. Right now my SLag puddle dries so wide that I cant cut a 2inch hole. The pierce height in cut charts is excessively high. Just wondering if anyone has experience cutting 2inch?
weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: XPR 300 2inch Pierce Questions

Post by weldguy »

2" :Wow I have no experience with that, sorry but sounds like your doing fairly well with it. Hopefully someone can chime in with some tips for you.
Rodw
4 Star Member
4 Star Member

Post by Rodw »

Does Pronest support a ramp in on piercing? Eg moves during the pierce to allow the slag to roostertail out the back? Might be worth trying.
Also, can the torch jump to a puddle jump height during the pierce so you can establish the arc at a lower height before jumping to the cut chart height?
I have not gone past 16mm so can't really help. I can imagine what the crater might look like though!
Dsilverarc33
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Post by Dsilverarc33 »

Yes Rod it does have a pierce ramp option but I’m not sure how it works. I do have arc jump start on allready. It lights at .375 then moves to 1” pierce height. It fully pierces at about 6 seconds. Argon assist seems be helping. But I’ve seen these at fabtech and such pierce with a half in hole or less. Seems as though something still isn’t quite right. I’ve been piercing, clean slag, then edge start cut with 1 second pierce. But it’s such a hassle.