SheetCam + Hypertherm 85

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
dawahar
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

SheetCam + Hypertherm 85

Post by dawahar »

Looking for some advice as a complete beginner!
We have a cnc plasma cutter and it is attached to a Hypertherm 85 machine.
Once we have loaded the job, we are able to select the material thickness etc,
but we also have the option of selecting fine cut, 45a, 65a or 85a
obviously each change of amperage selection creates different cutting speeds.
At present we are cutting quite a bit of 4mm and 6mm plate.
Can anyone advise what amperage setting we should be setting on the sheet cam program, and then what amperage should we be setting on the hypertherm?
Any advice appreciated!
Davie
djreiswig
4.5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: SheetCam + Hypertherm 85

Post by djreiswig »

Do you have a manual for the Hypertherm? The cut speeds and other settings are all in there. As far as amps, normally it's recommended to cut at the full amperage for the nozzle size you are using.
Use the smallest nozzle you can for the material thickness.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)
adbuch
6 Star Elite Contributing Member

Post by adbuch »

dawahar wrote: Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:58 pm Looking for some advice as a complete beginner!
We have a cnc plasma cutter and it is attached to a Hypertherm 85 machine.
Once we have loaded the job, we are able to select the material thickness etc,
but we also have the option of selecting fine cut, 45a, 65a or 85a
obviously each change of amperage selection creates different cutting speeds.
At present we are cutting quite a bit of 4mm and 6mm plate.
Can anyone advise what amperage setting we should be setting on the sheet cam program, and then what amperage should we be setting on the hypertherm?