I need help

Cut quality issues can be discussed here, most common issues have been discussed here and should help you.
wrenchhead
1.5 Star Member
1.5 Star Member

I need help

Post by wrenchhead »

I have been cutting with my table now for about 2 months(tracker 5x10 with hypertherm powermax 1250). Everything was going good till i decided that I wanted to cut some more detailed pieces. I bought a set of the fine cut tips and everything went haywire. I have tried everything that i can find on the site and nothing seems to work. The problem is that my torch only pierces every once in a while. I cut some test pieces and thought i had it set just rite but when i tried a detailed cut it turned out horrible (picture). I tried the settings frm hypertherm manual and adjusted frm there. I talked to the guys at tracker they told me that I may need to turn the machine up a bit to get a good pierce with the finer tips but nothing seams to work. I am bald but if I had hair I would have pulled it all out by now. Can anyone tell me why i am not getting a full pierce on my metal(14 gauge hot rolled steel). Any help is greatly appreciated.

Bubba
Bar M Metal Art
Attachments
IMG00307.jpg
jimcolt
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: I need help

Post by jimcolt »

You should be getting beautiful cuts with the FineCut consumables. Here are my guidelines:

Part numbers: Shield (deflector) 220404, Retaining cap 120928, Nozzle 220329, Electrode 120926, Swirl ring 120925.

For 14 ga steel:

Amperage 40

Cut height .08" (thickness of a nickel) Height is very very critical....this is the parameter that affects FineCut more than any other!

Pierce height .012"

Pierce delay .3 seconds

Arc voltage (in the range of 76 to 80, adjust voltage until cut height during steady state cutting is .080"....regardless of voltage setting)