Image
To close this announcement click the X in the top right corner.
Industry Pros use FastCut CNC

ARCPro THC Parameters

Don't see your table manufacturer listed above? Post here in this forum.
Post Reply
ChrisO
1 Star Member
1 Star Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:43 pm

ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by ChrisO » Tue Jan 11, 2022 12:26 pm

Anyone have experience they can share on setting up the Parameters for THC? I just got a Plasma table retrofitted with Vital Systems ArcPro system and I am currently using trial and error approach to create the data in the THC Parameters table. Currently I am turning THC off, setting the torch height IAW Plasma Manufacture spec, run a 5" long cut and incrementing the speed by 5ipm. After about 6 cuts, I then inspect my cut. I am currently working on 1/4" steel.
Perhaps someone has done this before and can share some insight on a better way to do this? Below are the data I am trying to capture. Perhaps someone has Vital Systems ArcPro and can share their Parameters?

Deadband Volts
Adjust Speed(%)
FR AntiDive(%)
Tip Volt Operating Range(%)
TV Rec Range (%)
Torch On Height
ArcOK Timeout (ms)
Pierce Height
Pierce Delay(ms)
Cut Height
Max Cut Height
Min Cut Height
THC Delay(ms)
Tool number
Description(material)
Chris Orwig
Mach4 Hobby
Vital Systems Hicon 7866 w/ 77ISO bd and ArcPro Plasma Profile
DYN4 DYN4-H01A2-00 AC SERVO /DMM 750 Watt NEMA 34
Thermal Dynamics Pak Master XL100 w/ floating head Torch
Retrofit Table: 6’x24’ linear rail and belt. Water Table

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by weldguy » Tue Jan 11, 2022 12:33 pm

Hey Chris, not familiar with Arcpro. Maybe if you were to post back the values you are currently using for those parameters and post the issues you have with using those settings someone may be able to get you closer.

ChrisO
1 Star Member
1 Star Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:43 pm

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by ChrisO » Fri Jan 14, 2022 11:51 am

Hey thanks, I will post back results of tests as you suggested.. but it might be awhile as a problem just came up. The Plasma cutter has a problem as it does not turn itself off after the cut. (initial investigations are pointing to the plasma cutters Logic Control PCB board.) I'll get back to THC Parameters after I have resolved this new issue.
Chris Orwig
Mach4 Hobby
Vital Systems Hicon 7866 w/ 77ISO bd and ArcPro Plasma Profile
DYN4 DYN4-H01A2-00 AC SERVO /DMM 750 Watt NEMA 34
Thermal Dynamics Pak Master XL100 w/ floating head Torch
Retrofit Table: 6’x24’ linear rail and belt. Water Table

Rodw
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:49 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by Rodw » Sat Jan 15, 2022 2:01 pm

If its not turning off, its possible you have the wrong setting on the plasma cutter itself. Some can be set to come on with a button press and turned off with a second button press. Do not use this mode for CNC plasma!

A lot of your settings are plasma cutter make and model specific. Some would be for all materials, others will also change with material type and thickness. If you do not have cutcharts, you need to do what you are doing for each thickness.

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by weldguy » Mon Jan 17, 2022 12:00 pm

10-4...thats a bummer. Good suggestion from Rodw above. Still using the Pak MAster XL 100? Does it do this if you fire it manually without the computer?

shaddr3
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2017 3:02 pm

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by shaddr3 » Mon Jan 17, 2022 10:28 pm

ChrisO wrote:
Fri Jan 14, 2022 11:51 am
Hey thanks, I will post back results of tests as you suggested.. but it might be awhile as a problem just came up. The Plasma cutter has a problem as it does not turn itself off after the cut. (initial investigations are pointing to the plasma cutters Logic Control PCB board.) I'll get back to THC Parameters after I have resolved this new issue.
Arcpro uses M5 macro for torch off. Make sure the files are in the profiles folder.

ChrisO
1 Star Member
1 Star Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2021 8:43 pm

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by ChrisO » Tue Jan 18, 2022 6:36 pm

Hey thanks for the insight. I connected the manual torch switch, in place of the CNC control and it still stays on after the second cut. This cutter does not have the second press of the button option. I have read through the Service Manual's trouble shooting guide and all conditions point to a bad Logic Control board.

Yes, the M3 was successfully turning the torch on and the M5 was successfully turning the torch off with no issues. It was not until I started running several cut tests that this issue showed up. Used parts are available for the Pak Master 100XL, so I have ordered a replacement Logic board(Ebay). I'm going to keep my fingers crossed......

Thanks for your thoughts everyone!
Chris Orwig
Mach4 Hobby
Vital Systems Hicon 7866 w/ 77ISO bd and ArcPro Plasma Profile
DYN4 DYN4-H01A2-00 AC SERVO /DMM 750 Watt NEMA 34
Thermal Dynamics Pak Master XL100 w/ floating head Torch
Retrofit Table: 6’x24’ linear rail and belt. Water Table

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by weldguy » Wed Jan 19, 2022 10:11 am

ChrisO wrote:
Tue Jan 18, 2022 6:36 pm
Hey thanks for the insight. I connected the manual torch switch, in place of the CNC control and it still stays on after the second cut. This cutter does not have the second press of the button option. I have read through the Service Manual's trouble shooting guide and all conditions point to a bad Logic Control board.

Yes, the M3 was successfully turning the torch on and the M5 was successfully turning the torch off with no issues. It was not until I started running several cut tests that this issue showed up. Used parts are available for the Pak Master 100XL, so I have ordered a replacement Logic board(Ebay). I'm going to keep my fingers crossed......

Thanks for your thoughts everyone!
Ah OK. Well hopefully the Ebay board you found does the trick. Good luck :Like

mikealex1970
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2020 4:47 pm

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by mikealex1970 » Mon Mar 07, 2022 9:00 pm

I also upgraded my plasma table to the Hicon 7866 and also upgraded to a new pc that came with windows 11. been having nothing but problems and was wondering if someone had some examples on setting the parameters in mach4 for plasma

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1124
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: ARCPro THC Parameters

Post by weldguy » Tue Mar 08, 2022 9:54 am

mikealex1970 wrote:
Mon Mar 07, 2022 9:00 pm
I also upgraded my plasma table to the Hicon 7866 and also upgraded to a new pc that came with windows 11. been having nothing but problems and was wondering if someone had some examples on setting the parameters in mach4 for plasma
You may be best to start a new topic in the Mach forum here viewforum.php?f=55 for help on your issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Various Manufacturers”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC