zoning by gantry location?

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
curts
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

zoning by gantry location?

Post by curts »

I'm a newbie...haven't even bought a table yet, so please excuse me if my lingo is not correct.
I was researching air/fume handling systems and was asked about zoning.
"If the table is zoned to 5x5 based upon gantry movement we can then reduce CFM requirements "
I had told this manufacturer of dust/fume collecting equipment that we were looking at a 5' x 10' table...probably Samson.
The table will be inside a building where 10+ people work, but not fully enclosed in it's own room...so I am trying to find the proper exhaust/filtration system rather than simply blowing the fumes/dust out a window.
Ideas?
How would one go about zoning?
I have read on this board about others who put welding screen or cardboard on the unused portion of the table to increase airflow on section used.
If I had a table in my home shop or one where I was the only worker....that may suffice, but I hate to rely on an employee remembering to block airflow manually and/or adjust fan speed.
It also seems to me that zoning would only help in sizing the CFM requirements lower if it was automated...otherwise, the system would still have to handle the full 5' x 10' air flow, right?
plasmaguy
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

Re: zoning by gantry location?

Post by plasmaguy »

I use a water table. Very little smoke. Although ventilation is great. Just something to think about.
Brad
Ironman
2 Star Member
2 Star Member

Post by Ironman »

What they mean by zoning is dividing the base under the table into zones or compartments, and connecting the ducting to each compartment with a damper.
As the gantry moves it hits an air switch, or a proximity switch that activats a small air cylinder to switch the damper from drawing air in Compartment A to compartment B