DMM Servo drive faults

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
Thor
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

DMM Servo drive faults

Post by Thor »

I've been chasing this issue for a couple years and still have not figured it out.

Candcnc Command CNC setup sending step and dir signals to DMM Dyn 4 servo drives and 750 watt servos.

I keep getting Y2 motor faulting out, usually either overvoltage or Lost Phase.

I have installed a Line reactor on the power feeding the drives as recommended by DMM to help with noise. I have replaced the encoder cable 2x now with brand new cable from DMM. Only difference between Y2 and all the other motors (Y1, X, Z) is that it has a shorter cables as its closest to the energy chain and control cabinet.

The overvoltage error, (when this appears it can be all drives) seems to be due to the fact that the drives kick out at 250vac and my incoming power is at 247vac (converted to 3 phase though a phase perfect digital converter). Seems like if my cnc turning center or mill is running at the same time, on a spindle ramp up or down the voltage spikes to 250-251 vac and trips the drive or all drives in the plasma. Power company said they dont care unless incoming is over 252vac with nothing running in shop.

I'm out of ideas on how to address either issue. Do I need to install a transformer just to power the servo drives? What would I even find to change from 247 to 240 vac? On the encoder issue I have tried running the drive end of the cable through a ferrite core a couple wraps, doesn't seem to help. Only other thing I can think of is to completely separate the torch cable to a new energy chain by itself. I have tried to keep it off to one side of the current chain and the encoders to the other side but doesnt help much either.

And I still need to wire up a fault signal from the drives to Command Cnc, so I don't have to babysit it all the time to watch for the gantry to go wonky.