Attention trouble shooters...need some help

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
patiencemetalfab
1/2 Star Member
1/2 Star Member

Attention trouble shooters...need some help

Post by patiencemetalfab »

I am new to this plasma CNC stuff, and have a second hand table that has been working pretty well with the exception of a glitch in the X axis sometimes. With my background in automotive diagnostics, I have narrowed down when it happens, and what it's doing but need help determining why.

Our plasma machine is an older home built machine using a Precision Plasma kit, C and CNC Gecko g540/steppers drive kit, the C and CNC licenced Mach3 on a dedicated windows XP PC. Cutter is a Hypertherm 45

I believe our issue is X losing steps and the slower the speed rate, the more pronounced it is. In fact, when the speeds get down to 15 ipm or so (1/2 plate cut), the X does not respond at all (a circle winds up a straight line in the Y axis). You can see in the DRO on Mach that it is commanding it to move, but it does nothing. Now, take that exact DXF and generate a tap file for 16 ga sheet, 350 IPM, and it cuts it perfectly-no issue with X what so ever.

While playing with it a little more today, I found another aspect of the problem while cutting 1/4 plate (54 ipm). When the tab pictured below is oriented long way parallel to the Y axis so that the left side vertical cut requires the Y axis to move, but not the X (clockwise direction), there is a delay before X starts moving as it begins the arc at the top. This causes the arc to be asymmetrical, and it also causes the hole to be off center because the lost steps in the delay for X to start moving results in the right side of the tab to be closer to the hole, as well as not line up with the lead in. (first picture)