New guy, no CNC experience

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
nomoreusmc
1 Star Member
1 Star Member

New guy, no CNC experience

Post by nomoreusmc »

So I am a fabricator and welder. I am not a computer programmer and I am a cnc virgin. Watching YouTube videos is my experience. I am looking at a few various tables to bring my Fab shop into modern times. I am terrified of the software.

I have been looking at designedge for plasma cam and fusion 360 that comes with the small crossfire table. I know they are drastically different tables, but to be honest I don't know what I don't know. I am not going to be asking much out of the table. I am wanting to get my build quality as high as I can, so I can do higher end auto fabrication and I also like making furniture. So the furniture side I see the art side of the table. I can see that being very cool very fast and fairly easy. What I am wanting to get is where I can design something and have it breakdown it's own cut list and organize stuff on the metal to use the most out of the metal. I am pretty sure that I will need to be able to import other people's files.

My background is in electronics repair including computer networking, but I burned out 10 years ago which is why I went to welding school. I used to write vb script in notepad, but I don't own a PC anymore. When Microsoft changed to Enterprise I gave up. Didn't want to relearn everything. My claim to fame was configuration of radio stations automation systems.

So I guess you are asking yourself why I am nervous about learning the software? Besides the fact of the long time away from complex software, but I am typically a hands on learner, and I have no one to teach me. Once I master it, I will probably push it to it's limits but getting there, flattening the learning curve. I don't want to get a really nice table that I cannot make work and making an ass out of myself in front of a customer.