Shielded vs. Unshielded questions

For general topics and questions that do not fit into any of the other categories or forums.
TrinityFabworks
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member

Shielded vs. Unshielded questions

Post by TrinityFabworks »

I finally picked up a machine torch for my miller 625 xtreme and had a couple of questions as I am new to all of this. I've been trying to read up on shielded and unshielded. The machine torch came with a shielded cap on it which my hand torch did not have. I was just wondering what advantages and disadvantages are for cutting shielded. I noticed that the actual tip is recessed a little bit behind the shielded tip. Does this mean that I need to change my retract and cut height to the distance of the actual tip? I'm sorry for all of the questions, I'm just a bit lost. Is it worth even using the shielded tip on it? Are you supposed to use different consumables with a shielded tip?
plasmanewbie
5 Star Elite Contributing Member

Re: Shielded vs. Unshielded questions

Post by plasmanewbie »

It's my understanding that the shielded version protects the nozzle from slag blow back during piercing and cutting and I have found this to be the case when cutting thicker materials that take a second or to to pierce. It works well. Yes,you want to maintain the same nozzle to work distance whether your shielded or un-shielded so make the adjustment to your heights.
jimcolt

Post by jimcolt »