Image
AUGUST EasyScriber Giveaway!
Industry Pros use FastCut CNC

hypertherm 0-12 code

Discussion on 0-30 fault codes
Post Reply
cutnweld
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:47 pm

hypertherm 0-12 code

Post by cutnweld » Mon May 24, 2021 10:52 am

Hi all, I have recently been having problems cutting thicker materials, 1" strenx 100 and hardox. It cuts perfectly for awhile then in the middle of nowhere the arc starts pulling back into kerf and if i turn feed rate way down it resumes cutting thru again. was running 13 ipm in times past, now i'm down to 10 ipm and still have problems, sometimes have to go down to 5 ipm. Front panel code 012. If I go into diagnostics i get a 0-12-0 code. Gas pressure at inlet 100 psi. powermax 85

User avatar
WyoGreen
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 893
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:36 pm
Location: Cheyenne, Wyoming

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by WyoGreen » Mon May 24, 2021 11:26 pm

It sounds like you are having air flow problems. What is your air pressure at the back of the plasma cutter when you start having cutting problems?

Steve
Precision Plasma gantry
CommandCNC Linux controller w/Feather Touch & PN200 hand controller
HT-45 plasma cutter
Plate Marker
Router
Laser

cutnweld
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:47 pm

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by cutnweld » Tue May 25, 2021 10:54 am

ya thats what I'm thinking. I never had a chance to check gauge when the problem occurs cuz I'm scrambling to save my $60 sqare foot metal...but presssure while normal cutting is around 100 psi on back of unit. gauge wraps around when not cutting as its only rated for 100 psi, i know im getting pressure drop but thought 100 on back of unit was sufficient. Looking at this and hoping it is something simple
https://www.hypertherm.com/en-US/learn/ ... odes-0-12/

cutnweld
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:47 pm

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by cutnweld » Tue May 25, 2021 11:31 am

ha when will I learn to start with the basics?... I drained off the air pressure and the gauge happily sat at 10 psi, So i have been getting a bad reading. Have a lot of confidence it will work fine once I get my drier cleaned out, the dessicant was caked on the bottom along with water :Wow

weldguy
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1220
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 11:48 am

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by weldguy » Tue May 25, 2021 11:55 am

Ah yes the desiccant cake. Seen that many times before. Dry it out 275 degrees for 2 hours or so, fluff it up and go at it again. Sounds like your plasma cutter was using more air than the desiccant cake would flow. Glad you found the issue.

Rodw
3.5 Star Member
3.5 Star Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 1:49 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by Rodw » Tue May 25, 2021 12:44 pm

0-12-0 is low air pressure. Its times like these that a good refrigerated drier setup might pay for itself pretty quickly as there is nothing to cake then.
With pre and post filters on it, there is no need for additional filtering or dessicant.

User avatar
djreiswig
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1515
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by djreiswig » Tue May 25, 2021 1:30 pm

I'd suggest getting a gauge with a higher range. Wrapping gauges past their limits isn't very good on them.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

cutnweld
2.5 Star Member
2.5 Star Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:47 pm

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by cutnweld » Tue May 25, 2021 2:06 pm

could I put a refrig drier only on the plasma side of my air system? like I'd need a good sized one to do all my compressor air(10 hp), not like it would hurt but I do a ton of carbon arc gouging and don't need clean air for that, didn't know if I could put a smaller unit in my plasma line that would run when the plasma is being used? Not at all familiar with them, setup and operation etc. I have a new gauge on the way as well.

User avatar
djreiswig
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
4 Star Elite Contributing Member
Posts: 1515
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 10:02 pm
Location: SE Nebraska

Re: hypertherm 012 code

Post by djreiswig » Tue May 25, 2021 7:23 pm

Yup. I have one of the harbor freight ones just on the table.
2014 Bulltear (StarLab) 4x8
C&CNC EtherCut
Mach3, SheetCam, Draftsight
Hypertherm PM65
Oxy/Acetylene Flame Torch
Pneumatic Plate Marker, Ohmic, 10 inch Rotary Chuck (in progress)

Post Reply

Return to “0-12 Fault Code”

Industry Pros use FastCut CNC